COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 9

Showing 1-9 of 9

Sort by:

Newest
  • on February 07, 2014

    Flag

    I've looked for the perfect meatloaf consistency for years. THIS IS IT!
    We have reduced and eliminated some of the spices over time to suit our tastes (like cumin), but that doesn't impact the perfect texture of this meatloaf ..

    Follow his instructions ... you can watch his 4-minute video on YouTube by searching "Good Eats Meatloaf-Food Network"

    Hugs to Alton Brown!

    P.S. I agree it does need to cook longer than specified above, especially when starting from cold meats. A little over an hour in my oven.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 24, 2013

    Flag

    Loved this one. Been trying to find a great Meat Loaf recipe and now I have it. Thanks.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 23, 2013

    Flag

    After reading all the reviews I decided to cook at 350 for 48 minutes. It was extremely good. I would make this again whenever I am in the mood for meatloaf. I left out the carrots and used ground beef and ground turkey!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 17, 2013

    Flag

    We love Alton, but he really steered us wrong on this recipe. We followed the recipe exactly. It took about 90 minutes to cook, not the 45 that the recipe called for. After about one hour into baking, the temp read only 120 so we turned the oven up to 350. When we tried to slice it, the meatloaf crumbled. The taste was okay, but not good enough for us to save the recipe. Sorry, Alton!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 27, 2013

    Flag

    In the words of Rachel Ray: Yum-O!
    This the first meat loaf I've made which sliced left-over, perfect for sandwiches (cold or heated like my mom used to serve the second day.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 13, 2012

    Flag

    This is the best meatloaf I have ever tasted. The only complaint I have is that the cooking time is way off. It takes far longer than 45 minutes.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 23, 2012

    Flag

    This is probably the best meatloaf I've ever made, and I've made a bunch of it. My husband is the real food critic, and he really liked it, too--said that he noticed "some heat." He agreed that I should make it again so it passed that test. And my kids--age 7 and age 3--who are constantly on guard for food that is "too hot" ate it without any complaints (dipped in ketchup of course. The carrots/onions/garlic add a really nice depth to the taste. The recipe was easy. I didn't have thyme (substituted some Italian seasoning that I did have or a red pepper (just omitted it without a substitution, and it was still great. I used 2 pounds of just ground beef that I had. I put it in for 10 minutes, added the glaze on top, then put it in for another 35, the thermometer read just below 155 degrees, so we put it back in for another 5 or so minutes, and it was dead-on the right temp. All at 325. But, in sum: a really great meatloaf recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 01, 2012

    Flag

    Ok, I've never been a fan of meatloaf but decided to give this a shot for my husband, and it was absolutely FANTASTIC! It was moist & flavorful, and not only did my hubby LOVE it, but I did too! Not sure what went wrong w/ the cooking time for cevyn but I didn't have any issue getting it to cook. We've had this dish a few times now and it never disappoints! It's awesome & definitely worth trying! Thanks Alton!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 18, 2012

    Flag

    ok, it wont let me edit my review, so i have to do another one...im keeping it at one star because of the cook time. i baked it at 325 per the directions and after 45 mins (cooking time listed it still wasnt done, so i left it in for another 20 mins and it STILL wasnt done. then i turned up the over to 425 (i had biscuits that needed to bake at that temp and left it in while it was heating up and while the biscuits were cooking (another 15 mins. i checked the temp and it read 155, but when i cut into it, it was still very pink (warm pink, but still pink, so i had to put it in the over for another 20 minutes before it was FINALLY done. so thats a total cook time of 100 minutes which is a bit ridiculous when the recipe says 45, i would hate to see how long it would have taken if i hadnt uped the temp =/

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.