Baked Coconut Shrimp

Recipe courtesy Bobby Deen
Show: Not My Mama's Meals Episode: Eating Clean

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 24

Showing 1-10 of 24

Sort by:

Newest
  • on June 25, 2014

    Flag

    I watched the show he made these in. In the show he added a little ketsup (about a tablespoon) and a little hot chili sauce to thicken the dipping sauce. Not sure why it wasn't in the recipe. I used sweetened coconut, that's all I could find. This recipe is a keeper!! I'm hosting a retirement party for a friend in a few months and this will be on my menu!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 17, 2013

    Flag

    Great alternative to the fried coconut shrimp we all love. Its very hard to find (or it was for me to find unsweetened coconut at your traditional grocery store. I'm sure a whole foods or other organic market would have it, but I used sweetened because thats what I had. And of course the sweetened coconut has sugar, so be mindful when cooking, some of it will burn. I flipped mine about half through the cooking time. My shrimp were U15 (jumbo so a little longer cooking time was needed. But they had great crunch, great flavor & we didn't feel guilty eating MANY of them :-

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 28, 2013

    Flag

    These were out of this world. So glad they weren''t fried. Served them with Red Lobster pina colada dipping sauce - YUM!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 18, 2013

    Flag

    The shrimp were so good!! This recipe was so easy!! Have made this several times and everyone loves it!!! Better than anything I have ever ordered in a restaurant!! Did not make the sauce. Used coctail sauce and a spicy orange sauce that I already had at home. Will make this one over and over

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 05, 2013

    Flag

    I followed the recipe to the letter and they were delicious. The coating was a bit scant but still has a wonderful taste. I am not really a big hot pepper person but it was not to spicy. I too am not crazy about curry but I used it anyway and it was just wonderful.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 07, 2013

    Flag

    Shrimp: Had a hard time getting the shrimp coated but I think that was more my fault. I'll have to practice.

    Sauce: I really liked the sauce but would like it a thicker. Not sure how to make that happen.

    Overall: very tasty!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 18, 2012

    Flag

    Great recipe!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 16, 2012

    Flag

    Super easy and great flavor. I made the sauce on the recipe but also took someone's suggestion and heated orange marmalade w/a pinch of cracked red pepper. The marmalade was by far the better of the two. There's more sugar in so I have to be good the rest of the day but the extra flavor makes up for it.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 20, 2012

    Flag

    So yummy! As good as Alton's : I don't like curry, so I left it out and added some soy sauce. Then, I thickened the sauce just a little.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 17, 2012

    Flag

    Great episode! Love the thai fruit salad too. I am also gluten free and replaced Panko with almond meal and used coconut flour. Love it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.