Baked Penne with Roasted Vegetables

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 9

Showing 1-9 of 9

Sort by:

Newest
  • on January 30, 2014

    Flag

    Amazing! I was tempted to buy regular mozzarella instead of the more expensive smoked mozzarella, but I remember another reviewer saying the smoked mozzarella really adds to the flavors. So glad I splurged and got the smoked mozzarella! It also smelled heavenly as the pasta was baking! The smokiness of the mozzarella complemented the roasted vegetables very nicely! And the mushrooms gave the tomato sauce a meaty taste! I love that Giada uses both smoked mozzarella and fontina cheeses in this dish. Fontina melts so beautifully and has so much flavor! When you make this, it's important to cut the veggies bigger since they really make the dish, and it's nice to bite into the larger pieces. I'll be making this again and again and again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 23, 2013

    Flag

    Very good dish, it makes a lot. The kids loved it and the cooking time was exact for roasting the vegetable and the final dish. Thanks Giada

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 16, 2013

    Flag

    I make this all the time in the winter months. It is satisfying and delicious, and it does make a lot. It is heavy with cheese, but the roasted veggies are delicious. Total comfort food!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 07, 2013

    Flag

    This was really good! My whole family ate it! My youngest son ate zucchini for the first time in this recipe and said he liked it. Highly recommend and was fun to make. The smoked mozzarella makes it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 19, 2012

    Flag

    Very good, definitly a have again meal.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 06, 2012

    Flag

    What a tasty dish!! I'm not sure exactly why - the cheeses, the italian seasoning or the roasting of the veggies, but they all culminate in a filling and yummy dish that makes a ton!! I had read the reviews & mommanettie said that it was even better the next day. I initially had my doubts as often pasta can absorb the liquids & can become dry when leftover. Not this! Also,when the reviews say it makes a ton, it does! It made 2 9x11 baking dishes. Great for next day leftovers. Only downside, it uses a lot of dishes/utensils. Be ready to wash.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 30, 2012

    Flag

    delicious and hearty. A nice meatless dish. The roasted vegetables are so good. Makes a lot and is even better the next day as left overs. My kids really enjoyed this, a great way to get them to eat more veggies.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 17, 2012

    Flag

    This makes a ton!! Have fixed it a couple of times and my husband who has had to become very carefuly about what he eats due to health issues actually liked it. I could not find the fontina so used gruyere. Even with the change, loved this one. And I now know how to make marinara sauce, so easy!! Thank you Giada!!! Trying another one of Giada's tonight. Love watching her show.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 26, 2012

    Flag

    I really enjoyed this. The roasted vegetables were delicious. I loved the red pepper and mushrooms most; I will be adding more next time. I used a "three cheese" store bought sauce which was fine but I lost all the subtlety of the fontina cheese. I'd advise using a very mild tomato sauce or make your own. If using a strong flavor store sauce, sub the fontina for the less expensive block mozzarella since it will get buried anyway. AND this makes great leftovers!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.