COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 67

Showing 51-60 of 67

Sort by:

Newest
  • on July 15, 2011

    Flag

    I absolutely love this recipe- the flavors are balanced and spot on. Such a healthy dish too! Will be making it again very soon.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 06, 2011

    Flag

    This dish ROCKS! Easy and tasty! It helped me to learn a whole new combination of spices that could work in other dishes as well. the addition of the yogurt to the sauce gave a wonderful creaminess to it and tempered the flavor of the spice.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 05, 2011

    Flag

    Just made this and it was excellent, easy and even my 7-yr old son enjoyed it. Left out the red chile flakes and it was still spicy enough. Make extra because there will be no left overs.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 29, 2011

    Flag

    This is a great recipe. My family ate and ate and ate. This dish was very flavorful and creamy. I put this over basmati rice and there were no left overs. I put more red pepper flakes than called for so it was a bit spicer but still as flavorful and delicious

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 28, 2011

    Flag

    Thanks for the yummy chicken recipe Bal! I always made mistakes with the yogurt and ended up with yucky white clumps...I finally got understood what I was doing wrong. Thanks for the cooking lesson :)

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 25, 2011

    Flag

    Exceptional recipe; wonderful flavors. I made it exactly as Bal indicated, even resisting simple changes like omitting the brown sugar (we don't like sweet) or replacing the water with chicken broth (which I frequently do in recipes for more flavor). The recipe was incredible just the way it was written. I did use a rasp grater to prepare the ginger and garlic and I measured each at 1 T and 2 T, respectively, wondering if that approach was equivalent to a fine dice like Bal did on TV. But, nonetheless, the dish came out spectacularly. (I did peel the ginger, although I know Bal prefers it unpeeled.) It had a fair amount of "heat" to it, but we like spicy food. Would definitely do it again. The recipe says it serves four and I think it's more like four "dainty" portions. We served it over brown rice, although the roti bread looked great I was not going to go to that much trouble.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 21, 2011

    Flag

    I Made this recipe to the tee and the only thing I would mention is that it is very spicy. There are several elements to this dish that should be well noted such as the large amount of fresh ginger and the chili flakes. These brought a great deal of heat to the dish but thanks to the yogurt, was tempered just enough for someone like myself to keep coming back for more. I thought it was an excellently seasoned dish, perfectly salted, and flavorful. However I do caution it's heat is not for e squeamish. I love anything spicy, my family are not the biggest fans so for anyone planning on making this dish, be sure to ease back a little on the spicy elements to the dish. Also, I recommend white rice or naan or something similar and simple. The simpleness of plain white jasmine rice kind of mellows out the flavor and balances things out.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 14, 2011

    Flag

    My son told me that this chicken, the cauliflower dish and the roti was one of "the most perfect meals" I have ever cooked. He is really spoiled and is a severe critic. It was really lovely.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 11, 2011

    Flag

    Easy and great. Will make again.... and again. Love Bal's recipes. I have made many, all hits.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 09, 2011

    Flag

    I LOVE this recipe I have been making it for at least two years on an almost weekly basis. I recently experimented with a technique from a different recipe for getting a more savory, mature flavor from the chicken. I hope you enjoy my modifications please let me know if you do...
    Cut the chicken breast into small 1/2” size cubes. Place on a plate and salt with kosher salt. In a mixing bowl, combine 1 cup yogurt, 1 tsp. ground cumin, 1 tsp. of garam masala, a dash black pepper a clove of garlic (finely chopped) and 1 tsp. fresh ginger finely chopped. Place chicken in yogurt mixture and into a tightly sealing container. Place in fridge overnight, flipping every so often. Follow Bal’s recipe, adding 1 tsp. of Brown Sugar and reducing the Yogurt to a 1/8 cup. Follow Bal’s cooking instructions but once the spices are added cook the chicken until 90% done leaving it slightly pink in the middle. Allow to simmer at a reduced heat until desired consistency is reached.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Carnival Eats

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.