Chicken South Indian Style

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 17

Showing 1-10 of 17

Sort by:

Newest
  • on May 20, 2014

    Flag

    Tried to keep to the recipe and just about managed it except I did add some extra chilli powder and did not have the asafoetida (substituted coriander powder - not really a substitute, I know but I was in the groove...).

    The sambar I found in a local Indian supermarket was very pleasant and did give a different finish to the curry.

    Turned out very well and will certainly make this again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 25, 2013

    Flag

    I made my own sambal powder by grinding whole spices. I had all the rest of the ingredients as written. The dish came out bland. No matter how much salt I added I couldn't impart flavor into this dish. I feel like it should cook for hours in a crockpot to have any flavor. The recipe didn't have enough time to get flavor out of it. A big disappointment.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 10, 2013

    Flag

    I was so excited to finally try this recipe. We drove by an Indian Grocer coming back from the Farmer's Market. I walked in and asked if they had Curry leaves (they are so hard to find. Needed fenergreek too. Not only did the man have Curry leaves, they were FRESH!!!! And he GAVE THEM TO ME, NO CHARGE!!! This chicken is delicious! Just got through making the homemade Garam Masalla. So fragrant!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 25, 2013

    Flag

    I tried this recipe a few months ago, and it has now become a family staple. Everyone in my family, including my kids, loves this recipe. It is easy to make, and I use the sambar powder I get back from India. But you can use any store-bought sambar or rasam powder, or even some garam masala. It is a versatile recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 08, 2012

    Flag

    Spice Goddess is the best......all her recipes are awesome............and TASTY DELICIOUS....I try to prepare as many as I can...............5 HUGE STARS !!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 06, 2012

    Flag

    Fantastic and certainly worth looking online for the spices which I was able to obtain at a neaby specialty store. Delicious! Thank you.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 29, 2011

    Flag

    Absolutely worth the effort to find the hard to find spices and herbs. And so easy to make.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 01, 2011

    Flag

    I think the overall taste is very good but the recipe was missing a bit of salt, very spicy but really enjoyed it and it was very easy to prepare.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 17, 2011

    Flag

    this was great, but to cook india you have to have india spices that has been alot of fun getting them together. the web site are great for that.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 02, 2011

    Flag

    Easy dish but, were the mustard seeds supposed to be grounded first. They were bitter. Nice flavor. Will make it again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.