COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 11

Showing 1-10 of 11

Sort by:

Newest
  • on February 11, 2014

    Flag

    3 people tasted this cake last night. We all feel this is the best carrot cake recipe we've ever had. Thank you Bal! I did change it somewhat as follows: I used only light brown sugar in the cake.I used 1/2 C of coconut oil instead of 1 C of grape seed oil in the cake.A couple of the spices I fresh ground, fennel & nutmeg.I believe this made a big difference in the flavor of my cake and I can only dream what this cake would be like if all the spices were fresh ground.For the frosting, I used only about 1-1.5 C of powdered sugar and I replaced the lemon juice with a generous tsp of vanilla and then I whipped it up pretty good.It was very light, similar to whipped cream.Do not skip the toasted coconut on top as it adds a lovely crunch and another dimension to this wonderfully textured cake.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 04, 2014

    Flag

    Full of flavor! If you are looking for something that will make a impression you have to try this cake out for sure. i followed the recipe and agree with other reviewers that adding nuts would be a great addition to the cake. You could even replace the carrots with zucchini for another savory cake.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 06, 2013

    Flag

    Seriously, this is one tremendously delicious cake. It is among the top three cakes that I have EVER made. I made three times as much icing as the recipe called for. I used two and a half 8 oz. containers of cream cheese and one 8 oz. of mascarpone, adjusting the spices accordingly. I also did not have a lemon, so I used a bit of lime zest and a few drops of the juice and it was just amazing. The cake is moist, soft, and perfectly balanced between the carrot and coconut. Make sure to use freshly-grated carrots--big difference in the moisture level. Lastly, the cakes cooked perfectly in about 20 minutes.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 06, 2013

    Flag

    This cake was so good. I'll nuts next time. I used 3/4th teaspoon of salt, and cream cheese frosting. The thing about layering cakes is to wait until it completely cools down on a cooling rack

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 28, 2012

    Flag

    I've not tasted the cake but the icing is delicious. Look for the post for the whole piece of cake. Well.... I made the cake very very good. The cake is very dense and I think making a layer cake does not do this cake justice you get more icing than cake. I made the cake again on the 29th in a single layer. Icing has a lot of flavor, used lime instead still very good. Next time I will decrease the coconut to 1/2 cup and use roasted 1/2 cup of chopped pecans. When I do that I will write another note

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 20, 2012

    Flag

    This recipe is a smash hit. It is fairly straight-forward even for someone (me who does not do much baking. The spices make is something special. Fresh grinding your spices will add a bit more punch. Thanks for a great recipe!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 12, 2012

    Flag

    This cake is delicious! My family doesn't like coconut, so I left that out and it was still so good. I used only cream cheese for the frosting and substituted a little milk and 1 tsp vanilla for the lemon juice and it was really good. Will definitely make again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 31, 2012

    Flag

    Loved it!...BUT ...next time i will add nuts

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 18, 2012

    Flag

    So delicious! I wouldn't say it only took 30 minutes, but it was worth it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 07, 2012

    Flag

    Love Bal's Cooking ! and what she does with spices to liven the same old boring things up a bit.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.