Prawns in Apple Basil Curry

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 10

Showing 1-10 of 10

Sort by:

Newest
  • on February 20, 2014

    Flag

    This was amazing!! So delicious with the perfect spice mix and warmth. Definitely will make this again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 09, 2013

    Flag

    My "bar" for great food, good tasting food, is rather high, and I am a person that takes great pride in cooking and a devote "foodie". I consider my cooking to be great. I often cook
    from instinct and without recipes.. Anyone who has been served a meal in our home has raved and said with that said it is on par with the best of chefs across the country.....
    I simply say, "I am Italian, generations of people who take great pride in the harmony of ingredients, who are passionate about food" . .... with that said, this is the worst waste of time and my organic ingredients. Not a repeat!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 05, 2013

    Flag

    It was delicious!!! I don't think it turned out how it was supposed to though. I doubled the recipe and used lite coconut milk so it ended up being kinda watery but all of the flavors were all there. It was a lot of prep but a food processor helped.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 02, 2013

    Flag

    This was absolutely delicious!! My husband said this was the best thing he has ever tasted.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 17, 2013

    Flag

    Disclaimer: I am a super taster.
    Too spicy. Followed directions as indicated with fresh ingredients. Its okay. The shrimp did get a nice sweet taste when you bite into it, but the sauce was really pungent/spicy. My boyfriend, less sensitive and likes spice, did say it was okay.

    Technically, i HATED mincing the onions. Im like, i don't have time to do this. I am use to recipes were its not so intensive on the labor. Also, hated thinly slicing the apples. More work than I wanted. So, I did not like the nitpicking part of it. Will pass, and maybe stay away from her recipes in the future, as it has a lot of taste that one may need to be accustomed too.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 19, 2012

    Flag

    This recipe is out of this world. I just love the spice combo it was perfect!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 29, 2012

    Flag

    The reduction of apple cider, coconut milk, and chicken stock with garam masala was so awesome!!!! It was sweet, tart, spicy, and packed with apple flavor.
    That little hit if spice pulled the whole recipe together.
    I would never had thought of pairing apples and prawns until now.
    So good my husband and I inhaled it all!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 30, 2012

    Flag

    Absolutely fabulous! I served this with Nigella's Pilaf for a Curry Feast, roasted cauliflower florets with cumin seeds and red pepper flakes, and homemade coconut sorbet. A feast! I used Granny Smiths and doubled the recipe (1 2/3 lb. shrimp for 5 people. Needs a lot of kosher salt to taste.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 24, 2012

    Flag

    Awesome!!!! This was my first attempt at an indian dish and this was delicious! I substituted and used olive oil, shrimp, and apple juice because it was available at our grocery store... But this recipe is a real treat! I doubled the recipe and there were still only 5 modest portions... So definitely double it if you are planning for more than 3 people.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 28, 2012

    Flag

    I thought this dish was amazingly good. If you like a little kick in you food, this will meet that requirement!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Simply Laura

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.