Traditional Vegetable Curry

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

3

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 11

Showing 1-10 of 11

Sort by:

Newest
  • on August 25, 2014

    Flag

    1. There is too much liquid and the sauce is quite thin - increase cooking time to reduce sauce to a more stew-like consistency. Since the potatoes being used are waxy, cooking for an additional 15-30 minutes does NOT ruin the integrity of the potatoes;
    2. Flavor is a little flat - i ncrease S&P to taste, but do not add final seasoning until ready to serve
    3. Make sure you taste your tomatoes to determine sweetness/sourness - A tablespoon (or more) of sugar may be necessary to counterbalance the sourness/tanginess of the tomatoes and buttermilk;
    4. Cooking time indicated is not enough to reduce the sauce to desired consistently - cook longer and bulk up the sauce by adding chickpeas. This not only helped with the consistency of the sauce, but added another nutritional dimension to the dish
    5. Dish lacks a smoky dimension, that, IMHO, would elevate it - add a teaspoon of smoked paprika gave it that element of smokiness that I thought it lacked.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 07, 2013

    Flag

    It turned out amazing! I made this recipe with soy milk instead of the buttermilk. The toasted and ground spices made my kitchen smell wonderful, and everyone I served this to loved it! I dabble in the gourmet cooking realm (yes I'm one of "those people" who have a fancy Facebook album of gorgeous food so I'm pretty adept when it comes to making modifications or adaptations to ingredients in recipes... By using soy vs. buttermilk, it made the curry much healthier. ^_^

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 04, 2013

    Flag

    This curry was inedible. Don't waste your money on the ingredients. It tasted sour not tangy from the buttermilk and it had too much of too many spices. I am a good cook and followed the recipe, it's just a bad recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 02, 2013

    Flag

    She should have mentioned using the buttermilk at room temp to prevent curdling. I substituted vegetable broth and whole milk yogurt which worked well and I did like the spicing amts. That worked well.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 20, 2013

    Flag

    I love all of her recipes. Honestly, both this channel and the Food Network are so full of "celebrity chef/personalities" who are all show and no substance that I rarely watch either anymore. But I will watch this show (and a few others that are not the "prime time" obnoxious shows and personalities.

    I'm lucky enough to live in a big city with ethnic groceries stores in very close proximity to my home, including an amazing Indian market that always carries fresh curry leaves and other great ingredients. The owner suggested that I freeze the leftover fresh curry leaves for future use. He said they freeze wonderfully.

    To keep buttermilk from curdling, make sure to add it at room temperature (not right out of the refrigerator. If you are using low-fat or non-fat buttermilk, you need to add in a little fat in the form of melted and cooled butter or a tablespoon or 2 of heavy cream. This will keep it from curdling.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 05, 2012

    Flag

    Recipe turned out well. While waiting for Bal's Indian roast chicken to rest I added green chard & green beans (just to use them up and they were a nice addition. I used heirloom tomatoes. Next time I will add coconut milk also. Think it will be a good flavor addition. Good recipe, not amazing but with a few changes I can make it perfect for our taste. We make a lot of Indian. I will make it again, with some fine tuning.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 23, 2012

    Flag

    This did not turn out well at all.
    It has a wired tangy flavor and the buttermilk curdled.
    I followed the instructions step by step and had much higher expectations.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 06, 2012

    Flag

    This is a fantastic recipe; I love its mellow but rich flavor. I am cooking it tomorrow for a Lutheran Lenten Soup Supper. I can't wait for others to enjoy it too!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 27, 2011

    Flag

    This is a delicious and simple curry. My family loves it. I adore it. I don't care for potatoes so used butternut squash and cauliflower instead. I am able to find all the spices except the fresh curry leaves so used (Sambhal curry powder instead. I like it hot so finished my bowl with some chopped serrano chili. We have many new dishes that we love courtesy of Bal !

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 23, 2011

    Flag

    Even though I didn't have exactly the same ingredients called for on hand, I made do with what I had. Me and my family gobbled it up. Made it with the sweet potato cakes also from Dal found on this site and it was a delicious vegetarian meal.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.