Bal's Lentil Cookies

Recipe courtesy Bal Arneson
Show: Spice Goddess Episode: Indian Lunch Bag

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 27

Showing 11-20 of 27

Sort by:

Newest
  • on November 01, 2011

    Flag

    These are one of my favorite cookie recipes. And that they are relatively healthy is a huge bonus.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 17, 2011

    Flag

    they are great and healthy at the same time

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 05, 2011

    Flag

    These cookies are so unusual and quite flavorful! I didn't have pumpkin seeds available so I used some sunflower seeds and pine nuts instead. My husband, a self-acknowledged "cookie monster" loved them! The chocolate chips provide just enough sweetness. The fiber content must be high as the cookies are very filling and satisfying. Next time my husband suggested I put in some peanut butter. Thanks so much and I really enjoy this show.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 01, 2011

    Flag

    I made this recipe for the first time just now and I cannot stop eating them. I added extra almonds, dried cherries, and dark chocolate. Yummy goodness. Next time I am going to add 1/2 c almond butter and only 1/2 cup of the butter. I think that might bump the taste up even more and add more protein! yay!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 29, 2011

    Flag

    this is a great tasting cookie thank you I am a vegetarian and it is hard to find recipes. I eliminated the egg and used Earth Balance in place of butter. I LOVE it and my husband too. love watching your cooking show Bal.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 25, 2011

    Flag

    This is a fantastic recipe! I particularly liked the different textures in the cookie. Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of omitting the pumpkin seeds because I didn't have any. I have a grandson who is a picky eater with allergies. He loves chocolate cookies so I will try this with some gluten free flours. It's a great idea for sneaking in those healthier ingredients!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 20, 2011

    Flag

    Surprisingly fantastic. I'm not great at baking but have been trying lately. This was easy and tasty. I really love the base of this recipe and playing with different add in's. I used chocolate chips, almonds and coconut (I didn't have pumpkin seeds. So delicious. I'm definitely trying dried fruit for my next batch. Thanks for a fantastic healthy recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 08, 2011

    Flag

    I'm trying out new Healthy recipes and I LOVE Bal's recipes!
    (Having to wait for my butter to soften once the lentils were ready, my lentils were perfectly cooled when I mixed the ingredients!
    I took the cookies to my predominantly male work environment, and didn't tell anyone what was in them until after they were already raving! (snicker snicker snicker Everything turned out PERFECT!
    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 07, 2011

    Flag

    The cookies are delicious, but mine didn't look as pretty as Bal's. They were a little "bready" and the directions should include to cool the lentils first, because the chocolate chips melted in. I used walnuts, peanuts, and flaxseed because I didn't have any almonds. I think the apricots would be delicious as well. I like that these are healthier snacks to send with my kids to school.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 27, 2011

    Flag

    These were great cookies!I didn't have the chocolate chips so I subbed chopped apricots and raisins. I also added cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, allspice, ginger and white pepper with some anise extract to make a "chai tea" spice flavor! MMMMM...lovely!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.