Beer Battered Fish and Roasted Fries

Recipe courtesy Bobby Deen
Show: Not My Mama's Meals Episode: Boys' Night

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 15

Showing 1-10 of 15

Sort by:

Newest
  • on January 30, 2014

    Flag

    We have tried endless recipes that look so good on TV only to be disappointed...until this one! This is delicious and easy. I will say that my beer batter was on the thin side, and it did not stick to the sides of the fish, but it did stick to the top and bottom (and in the spirit of a healthier dish, less batter is not a bad thing!). This was really good, though, and it will definitely be made again in our house. One word of caution - I was taken aback by the 1 cup of salt in the recipe. That is the recipe for house seasoning, which now sits in a container on my counter for many future uses. I did not immediately realize that this is for a large supply of this - not just for this recipe. The sweet potato fries were also amazing. I would never have thought to add orange zest to them, but what a good call!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 28, 2013

    Flag

    I made this and it was delicious, but I had a problem with my batter sticking not sticking to the fish and sticking to the pan. I used more oil than depicted in the video and let it get hot. My fish was brought to room temp and soaked in the batter for 5 mins or so. I lightly seasoned the fish and batter with old bay. Any suggestions? Anyone else note that the procedures in the video/show are quite different? In the tv episode he poured beer into the dry ingredients and the recipe calls for adding flour to the beer? Also, I was left with some uncooked batter on the sides of the fish. Please help with any tips. thanks

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 31, 2013

    Flag

    It Was Awesome Making This !

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 10, 2013

    Flag

    This was a really good healthier version of fish and chips! My husband and I will make again. The key is to get your oil hot enough. Even with really hot, almost smoking oil, the batter absorbed the oil. I used etra light olive oil made for frying. Next time I will try canola (didn't have any on hand. I cooked the fish is three batches and used about 3 tablespoons oil each time. Also, I will up the seasoning on my fish or add seasoning to the batter. The fish was nice and moist. Good recipe but needs a little tweaking. Loved the chips!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 07, 2013

    Flag

    Great recipe!!! We actually used it for the base in fish tacos and it was amazing. My attempts at frying anything in a skillet have usually resluted in "not a keeper". This is a keeper and will be a regular addition to our "go to" meals. Thanks so much.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 27, 2013

    Flag

    Thank you, thank you, thank you, Bobby! What a great recipe. I never really ate fish for most of my 40+ years. However, in my journey to lose weight and eat healthier, I've tried some and was surprised at how much I enjoy it. This recipe was fantastic. I mean, really, how do you go wrong with beer batter? However, it wasn't so heavy and thick like it is when it's deep fried. This was wonderful and flavorful and light.. Loved it! Made my own aioli to dip though as I enjoy the spicy stuff. The fish was perfect. You rock. Congrats to you and your Mama for the weight loss and better choices.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 27, 2013

    Flag

    Learned to make beer battered fish in England. Have to give you kudos this is right up there with a English pub but without the atmosphere. Will definitely make this one again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 20, 2013

    Flag

    Good flavor and easy to make but my beer batter came off in huge chunks after in pan. I was very disappointed.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 25, 2012

    Flag

    I made the roasted sweet potatoes to compliment another dish.....they were easy and amazing!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 04, 2012

    Flag

    last time I made beer batter fish it was a disaster then I watched bobby make this I decided to try again. Omg this is wonderful easy way to make beer batter fish, my husband had 3rds I will be making this from now on. I used non-stick pan, hi temp and a little oil to fry in. I used tilapia only flipped once, fish did not absorb oil, batter stayed on the fish perfectly it was crunchy and delicious and restaurant quality I would be proud to serve friends or family

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.