Bobby's Red Velvet Cupcakes

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

3

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 13

Showing 1-10 of 13

Sort by:

Newest
  • on August 08, 2013

    Flag

    I didn't like these cupcakes at all. :( I really wanted to love them but i didn't. I actually love beets but the taste that the beets left in my mouth from these cupcakes was gross. I'm my opinion the heavy taste of the cocoa and the taste of the beets, didn't mix well at all. I'm really sorry Bobby. Hopefully I like the next recipe of yours that I try.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 27, 2013

    Flag

    These were a huge hit. I made these for my daughter's birthday and told no one that I colored them with beets. No one knew and the kids came back asking for more. I received multiple complements on how delicious the cupcakes were. I used pastry flour instead of cake flour because my son is allergic to the bleached wheat in cake flour and they were super moist. Will definitely be making again. I did not make the frosting as the birthday girl doesn't like cream cheese frosting. I made vanilla buttercream frosting and it paired very nice.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 08, 2013

    Flag

    This was an excellent and fun recipe! Enjoyed every minute of it : I made half the quantity and used microwave steamed beets. The cupcakes were very moist with a hint of cocoa flavour as well as beet flavour...which is exactly what I wanted. My husband devoured two immediately...and says he could have had four! lol

    The colour was reddish brown...and I think you really have to use the roasted beets if you want a deep red colour as a significant amount of colour is lost during the boiling ans steaming process.

    Anyway thanks for the yummy recipe Bobby!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 03, 2013

    Flag

    The beets are supposed to taste like beets after you roast them. He never said they would change their taste. The cupcakes had no trace of beet in them after they were fully backed. I agree that they had too much cocoa in them, next time I'll use 1 forth or 2, not 3. They were still delicious and one of my most successful cupcakes. I didn't have cake flour; I used all purpose flour and subtracted 4 TBS plus 1 TSP. For the frosting, I only had whipped cream cheese and I it worked even better. I also put a bit of vanilla yogurt and it held its shape perfectly. I piped it on. I will definitely use this recipe again, the color the beets impart is absolutely fantastic. Can't wait to try it with yellow beets, do maybe a marble cupcake. I definitely recommend this recipe. Those who gave it 1 star did something wrong I think.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 03, 2013

    Flag

    This was the best Red Velvet I have ever tasted. Moist great taste and texture. I do not like beets but you couldn't taste them at all. Perfect.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 28, 2012

    Flag

    I too was so excited to find a Red Velvet recipe for my daughter because she has a food allergy to artificial colors. I normally do not eat beats because they have a bad taste to them. I baked the beats as directed. The color was beautiful however the taste was that beat taste and it had way too much cocoa in it.

    Most recipes call for a few tablespoons or ¼ of a cup but never ¾ of a cup. And the icing could not be as fluffy as shown with a 1 ¼ of powder sugar with 8 oz of cream cheese.

    If my kid won’t eat the cake it defeats the purpose. It is ok for an adult that is watching what they eat but not good enough for a kid who wants to eat like everyone else and that is what I want for her. I will get there for her.

    I was very disappointed but I am a big fan. Expecting more from your next recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 20, 2012

    Flag

    I roasted the beets and mine came out red but very beety tasting. They are not popular in my house, sorry Bobby.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 12, 2012

    Flag

    I got really excited to make these because the last natural recipe I made was indeed quite red, but tasted very"beety". I don't understand what everyone was talking about - they were very bland, not red at all, a little dry, but again really bland. Sorry Bobby -

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 30, 2012

    Flag

    I boiled the beets and the batter was not red. They were so moist and tasty and my kids loved them...even thought they knew the beets were in them!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 01, 2012

    Flag

    I made these with canned beets. They were delicious. The only issue I had was that they looked like chocolate cupcakes and not red velvet.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Simply Laura

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.