Butternut Squash with Quinoa, Spinach and Walnuts

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 20

Showing 1-10 of 20

Sort by:

Newest
  • on October 20, 2014

    Flag

    Great recipe, however needed a few modifications. I added rosemary during the cooking process as well as pepper. I cooked my quinoa similar to a risotto, by deglazing the pan with a bit of white wine and adding parmesan at the end with the walnuts. Omitted the raisins. Turned out great!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 06, 2014

    Flag

    Tasty and easy! I roasted some butternut squash today and didn't know what to do with it. I made this using the cubed, roasted squash, folding it in at the very end - once the quinoa was nearly done. I also added red pepper flakes (I add them to everything!) and a couple dashes of nutmeg for interest. It was SO GOOD. Great recipe and easy for week night. Thanks!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 17, 2014

    Flag

    Can't believe I went to the store to specifically buy the leek & squash. Then forgot the squash! I was determined to fix this as a side. It was great even without the squash. I imagine it will be even better when I make it with the squash.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 10, 2014

    Flag

    I roasted the butternut for added flavor and color. Excellent !

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 04, 2014

    Flag

    REALLY enjoyed this recipe. I found it searching for something else to do with my leftover roasted butternut squash, therefore I didn't cook the squash as called for in the recipe. When I make it again, I think I will roast the squash again. It was delicious!! My husband said it's a keeper, also, and he's not usually into these kind of dishes. I also used tricolor quinoa and didn't have golden raisins so substituted regular raisins. Followed everything else as the recipe stated. It's going to be a "regular" in this house. Yum!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 27, 2013

    Flag

    I love the fact that this is vegan and very low in fat. What a great alternative to the fatty, meat dishes for Thanksgiving. I took the suggestion of adding cumin, curry and cayenne.....I also used a spinach and arugula mix to give two different flavors to the greens. I made the yellow raisin amount 50/50 with cranberries. Lastly, I used a tri-color quinoa, which really gave it an additional nutty complexity. The only reason I rated it a 4/5 is that I am not sure many guests would be willing to try it....but once they do they will be blown away! Has anyone roasted the butternut squash and then added it to the quinoa?

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 10, 2013

    Flag

    So easy to make and delicious hot or cold .

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 05, 2013

    Flag

    Delicious. The combination of flavors and textures makes this keeper. This makes a lot. Since there is just the Hubs and myself, I halved it the 2nd time around. Enough for dinner and great as lunch the next day.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 17, 2013

    Flag

    This hit all the right notes. I thought it might lack a bit of something without adding any seasonings, but all the ingredients combined into the perfect bite. I followed the recipe exactly, except I don't like buying leeks, so I sauted half of a sweet yellow onion. The rest I followed as written and it was excellent. I will be making this again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 11, 2013

    Flag

    Method was easy and quick, which lends to creative ways to change out veggies & spices. You hit this right out of the park!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.