Butternut Squash with Quinoa, Spinach and Walnuts

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 17

Showing 1-10 of 17

Sort by:

Newest
  • on January 10, 2014

    Flag

    I roasted the butternut for added flavor and color. Excellent !

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 04, 2014

    Flag

    REALLY enjoyed this recipe. I found it searching for something else to do with my leftover roasted butternut squash, therefore I didn't cook the squash as called for in the recipe. When I make it again, I think I will roast the squash again. It was delicious!! My husband said it's a keeper, also, and he's not usually into these kind of dishes. I also used tricolor quinoa and didn't have golden raisins so substituted regular raisins. Followed everything else as the recipe stated. It's going to be a "regular" in this house. Yum!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 27, 2013

    Flag

    I love the fact that this is vegan and very low in fat. What a great alternative to the fatty, meat dishes for Thanksgiving. I took the suggestion of adding cumin, curry and cayenne.....I also used a spinach and arugula mix to give two different flavors to the greens. I made the yellow raisin amount 50/50 with cranberries. Lastly, I used a tri-color quinoa, which really gave it an additional nutty complexity. The only reason I rated it a 4/5 is that I am not sure many guests would be willing to try it....but once they do they will be blown away! Has anyone roasted the butternut squash and then added it to the quinoa?

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 10, 2013

    Flag

    So easy to make and delicious hot or cold .

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 05, 2013

    Flag

    Delicious. The combination of flavors and textures makes this keeper. This makes a lot. Since there is just the Hubs and myself, I halved it the 2nd time around. Enough for dinner and great as lunch the next day.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 17, 2013

    Flag

    This hit all the right notes. I thought it might lack a bit of something without adding any seasonings, but all the ingredients combined into the perfect bite. I followed the recipe exactly, except I don't like buying leeks, so I sauted half of a sweet yellow onion. The rest I followed as written and it was excellent. I will be making this again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 11, 2013

    Flag

    Method was easy and quick, which lends to creative ways to change out veggies & spices. You hit this right out of the park!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 06, 2013

    Flag

    I've made this dish twice now and really love it. I thought that I would need to add a bit of spice but found the vegetable broth I make adds plenty of flavor. I didn't even add pepper (a stable of many dishes for me. The need to add more spice will all depend on the broth you use. I look forward to trying the curry powder and cinnamon suggestion.

    Last night, as I had no leeks, I used a sweet onion and cranberries in place of raisins. The red berries, orange squash and green spinach made a very bright and festive looking winter dish.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 15, 2013

    Flag

    Took this to a pot luck and it was a huge hit! Serve hot, cold, or room temperature and it will be tasty. rclay1972 had some good advice to add some zip...I tossed in a little yellow curry powder and cinnamon. Definitely recommend.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 02, 2013

    Flag

    I noticed in the recipie that he didnt add any spice so I added cinnamon, tumeric and yellow curry pwcr. Then I put it in a casserole dish and on top put crushed walnuts w panko bread crummbs. It was very good. Had an indian flare.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.