Butternut Squash with Quinoa, Spinach and Walnuts

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 20

Showing 11-20 of 20

Sort by:

Newest
  • on February 06, 2013

    Flag

    I've made this dish twice now and really love it. I thought that I would need to add a bit of spice but found the vegetable broth I make adds plenty of flavor. I didn't even add pepper (a stable of many dishes for me. The need to add more spice will all depend on the broth you use. I look forward to trying the curry powder and cinnamon suggestion.

    Last night, as I had no leeks, I used a sweet onion and cranberries in place of raisins. The red berries, orange squash and green spinach made a very bright and festive looking winter dish.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 15, 2013

    Flag

    Took this to a pot luck and it was a huge hit! Serve hot, cold, or room temperature and it will be tasty. rclay1972 had some good advice to add some zip...I tossed in a little yellow curry powder and cinnamon. Definitely recommend.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 02, 2013

    Flag

    I noticed in the recipie that he didnt add any spice so I added cinnamon, tumeric and yellow curry pwcr. Then I put it in a casserole dish and on top put crushed walnuts w panko bread crummbs. It was very good. Had an indian flare.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 01, 2012

    Flag

    Very yummy recipe. Love the combination of flavors and ingredients. The only thing I will do different the next time I make it is, add more spinach and more walnuts on top, otherwise love it.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 24, 2012

    Flag

    I love this recipe. I am making it for the third time in six weeks right now. I skip the raisins, but otherwise, it is perfect! Makes a great lunch to take to work.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 30, 2012

    Flag

    The dish is not bad... I would make it again... Super easy recipe (that part is a 5 star... Flavor is interesting, it is layered approach with each bite, you might taste a bit of spinich and next bite a bit of sweet raisin... As a complete dish each of the flavors compliment one another... As with most things, this dish works for me, might nto be the same experieince for others... It is a recipe worth giving a try....

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 05, 2012

    Flag

    Super easy and very flavorful. The leeks and garlic provided plenty of flavor. I may have added a little more garlic than the recipe called for. But it got rave reviews.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 21, 2012

    Flag

    The base recipe is fine & easy to make, but it badly needs seasoning. I added about a teaspoon of Kosher salt, some black pepper, a touch of cayenne pepper, and a teaspoon of cumin. That helped a lot! I'd also suggest a curry powder blend if you don't like cumin. I added some celery because I had some that needed using & that was nice too.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 19, 2012

    Flag

    Love this dish! It so easy to make. Sea salt to top it off adds just the right touch to bring it full circle.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 15, 2012

    Flag

    Recipe was easy to prepare but short on flavor. There are many other tasty recipes using quinoa - this one isn't one that I would add to my "keepers."

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.