Gooey (With Less) Butter Cake

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 30

Showing 1-10 of 30

Sort by:

Newest
  • on March 18, 2014

    Flag

    Just tried this recipe after watching the show. Never tried the original. Made this recipe with a golden butter cake mix. Added milk instead of buttermilk, came out great. Combination of a light moist cake with a cheesecake topping. Great combination of flavors. Doesn't taste light, although I'm sure the original is much richer. Nice desert, a must try.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 25, 2013

    Flag

    i have not tried the original version, so i'm not sure how this compares to that. looking at that recipe, that cake would be too rich for me. this cake was easy to make, with an excellent outcome. I loved it, and so did everyone who tried it. I made it according to Bobby's recipe, but do plan to try using applesauce next time. this will probably be one of my go-to recipes from now on. made it for a gathering, everyone loved it. didn't have greek yogurt, drained regular yogurt for a few hours to lose some of its moisture. because of comments about it being too much for the pan, i used a 10" cake pan, that worked out well. but next time i'll make more of the cream cheese mixture to top the the larger surface of the 10" pan.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 02, 2013

    Flag

    Wonderful cheese cake with great flavor. Made for birthday party and it was a hit!! Only I use the recipe from his book " From Mama's Table to Mine" which is slightly different. Next time I would use spring pan and not the 9x13 pan recommended. & i would use whole 8oz of cheese instead of 6. Have to watch this 1 was done in 35min

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 24, 2013

    Flag

    LOVED IT ! My whole family loved it ! I will definately try it with applesauce instead of oil and with a variety of cake mixes ! Variety is the spice of life !! ;

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 04, 2013

    Flag

    This was AWESOME!!!! I just substituted applesauce in place of the oil & wawla!! Made it on easter & the whole family loved it!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 07, 2013

    Flag

    First of all I wanted a full cake so I doubled the recipe with a butter cake mix instead of the yellow (butter cake. I then added a bit more oil and a bit more Buttermilk because the bottom layer seemed a little dry, hard to stir. Topping on this cake was delish and reminded me of a cheesecake This is going to a ladies committee meeting today and can't wait to see what they say about it. 9x9 really 9x13 is to small for double recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 12, 2012

    Flag

    The recipe calls for a cake mix but, the standard cake mix makes 2-9" rounds. I doubled the topping and made two cakes with one yellow Pillsbury cake mix. I really loved the cake ( I gave one to my neighbor and they loved it too. I would make it again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 09, 2012

    Flag

    I have made Paula's original recipe dozens of times, especially the pumpkin. This was just alright. I will try it with the pumpkin next time to see if it adds to the flavor and takes away the "diet" taste.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 06, 2012

    Flag

    Most amazing cake I have ever eaten!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 03, 2012

    Flag

    This was jus ok in my opinion. It actually tastes "diet", and that's not a good thing. If I had to compare this to the original Gooey Butter Cake, they aren't even in the same ballpark.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.