Lighter and Leaner Pimento Cheese Sandwiches

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 40

Showing 1-10 of 40

Sort by:

Newest
  • on February 23, 2014

    Flag

    Really good, light and flavorful. I used red peppers that were very ripe so also very sweet. I also added about a 1/3cup of mayo for the creaminess. Be warned that the mix will separate and break down a bit after 2 days in the fridge. The whey in the yogurt is the culprit.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 09, 2014

    Flag

    5 stars! first attempt was awesome, second attempt local produce was overripe, was not as pleasant. Also tried with fried egg, but the original recipe with Freshest Vegetables in unbeatable. Will be making this again and again. Thanks!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 02, 2014

    Flag

    Saw this on the show and gave it a try -amazing! I forgot the jalapeño and chives but added extra green and red pepper. I also added some yellow onion in. I'd like to play around and add other veggies like others reviews said but I'm going to use some leftover mixture on a baked baked potato for lunch tomorrow!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 28, 2013

    Flag

    YUM! My 10 year old and I drooled as we watched this episode and had to make it right away. I didn't have chives or tomato, so we threw in some onion and sliced avocado and baby spinach on top. Good grief, this was good! (think I might try mixing in the avocado next time too!) Thanks Bobby! This recipe ROCKS!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 29, 2013

    Flag

    Oh my gosh! Best tasting grilled cheese sandwich EVER! I left off the tomato and took Paula Deen's advice and spread light mayonnaise on bread instead of butter before grilling. I will never make grilled cheese any other way. Good Stuff!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 24, 2013

    Flag

    Oh my word. Saw the episode where Bobby and Paula made this, and decided to try it. My husband and I buy "real" pimiento cheese at the NC Farmer's Market to have picnics on Saturday's during the summer. I didn't really think that this could be nearly as good. How wrong could I be? The flavor is a little spicy, with just a touch of the bell pepper flavor (I chopped the peppers really fine, and just a little tart from the Greek yogurt. The texture is smooth and creamy. I'll be making this again and again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 17, 2013

    Flag

    OMG! I made the pimento cheese part of the recipe and then used it as a stuffing for the fresh squash blossoms I just harvested off this years squash plants. I'll be making this again to try as a dip with celery or crackers.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 26, 2013

    Flag

    I used Cabot's Reduced Fat cheddar(70 cal=1 oz and Nature's Own Honey Wheat (40 cal= 1 slice and it reduced the calorie count to 192 calories per sandwich. It's SO tasty! I separate the mixture into 4 small containers to help with the portions. I've even had it as a snack with pretzels.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 13, 2013

    Flag

    It is ok, but don't think I would ever make it again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 03, 2013

    Flag

    My daughter was home from college and we watched this show together. She immediately looked at me and said, "Yum!" So, I made it tonight to go with our chili - "YUM!"

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 4 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.