Lighter Shrimp and Polenta

Recipe courtesy Bobby Deen
Show: Not My Mama's Meals Episode: Can't Take the South out of the Man

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 16

Showing 1-10 of 16

Sort by:

Newest
  • on April 05, 2014

    Flag

    I made this and it lacked flavor. So I made it again using pancetta and fire roasted tomatoes. Much better

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 12, 2012

    Flag

    Made this for the first time it was okay...I could not find polenta so I subs it with fast cooking grits...I agree with some of the other reviews that this dish did not have much flavor...it was still good to eat...I am going to try to cook it again and see maybe the second time will be better...My favorite dish from Bobby Dean is his flank steak tacos with black bean salsa sooo good...it is one of my best dishes I ever made so super easy to made and tons of flavor!!!!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 09, 2012

    Flag

    One of my new favorite dishes. My girlfriend is allergic to shell fish, so I used chicken instead (browned it with the bacon then added it back at the end. It worked just fine. I also added a half cup of freshly grated parmesan cheese to the polenta to flavor it up a bit more. All in all, one of my new go to dishes, quick, easy and oh so tasty.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 25, 2012

    Flag

    Very under-seasoned if you follow the recipe, and very plain. I added extra veggies like squash and asparagus, kicked up the heat a little with some sriracha in the tomato sauce. I also made the polenta with half vegetable stock and half water. Next time I will definitely be seasoning the polenta with some cheese, but there will be a next time. It just takes some tweaking to make it right to your tastes.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 05, 2012

    Flag

    Sooo good, we loved it: I would add a little greek yogurt and some parmesan cheese to the polenta next time though.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 02, 2012

    Flag

    I give the shrimp a 5 and the polenta a 3. I followed the recipe as written. Next time I will not use a cast iron skillet. The flavor was great but it cooked way too fast...

    I love this dish and will make it again...

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 29, 2012

    Flag

    Very good! For the Polenta, I used low sodium chicken broth & added Parmesan cheese, as recommended by another user. The whole dish was good will be this making again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 28, 2012

    Flag

    At first I was hesitant on how the polenta was going to go
    With the topping, I added kale also ! We very much
    Enjoyed it and I will make again !

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 21, 2012

    Flag

    Half a bell pepper? LOL! Just dice the whole thing and chuck it in! This recipe was easy to make & very tasty!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 30, 2012

    Flag

    This was really tasty. May be hard to convince someone it's also healthy- lol.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.