Simply Smashed Potato Cakes

Recipe courtesy Bobby Deen
Show: Not My Mama's Meals Episode: Game Day Eats

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 11

Showing 1-10 of 11

Sort by:

Newest
  • on March 11, 2013

    Flag

    To use ingredients on hand I made the following changes: fat free sour cream instead of yogurt, regular breadcrumbs and plain russet potatoes - but the potato cakes were still excellent. I had problems getting them to hold together while frying, but they were still excellent and we'll definitely do this again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 06, 2013

    Flag

    I thought it was, very good. Great recipe....
    I do like Bobby's show....

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 06, 2013

    Flag

    The best I've ever tasted!!! (sorry Paula Much better than plain old hash browns. Yummy and Delicious

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 21, 2012

    Flag

    Loved this recipe! I made one change and used ground up gluten free rice cereal in place of the bread crumbs (shhh... don't tell my son!. It came out great and I will definitely make this again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 03, 2012

    Flag

    Not bad and worth trying. Was a first for me in attempting to fry mashed (smashed, all the same potato's. Did take a bit of getting the oil temp just right, but all turned out decent. Has lots of flavor too. Dish is easy, does have a fair amount of light busy work though. Over all in my book, practice makes perfect and I am a ways off, so few more tries are in order for sure. Potato's, Garlic, Bacon and Cheddar, need more incetives. A bit healthy too...

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 07, 2012

    Flag

    Delicious! We saw the episode and made these for dinner the same night. Made minor modifications and they are still awesome. I added 1 more slice of bacon, used unsalted chicken broth, used regular old russet potatoes that I had peeled, I didn't have any breadcrumbs so I had to make my own with some italian bread we happened to have in the cupboard, added an extra 1/4 cup of shredded cheddar cheese and lastly used light sour cream instead of yogurt.

    So even though it looks like I changed a lot, I didn't really and these were so tasty. I used a previous reviewers suggestion and used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to scoop the potato and ended up with 12 cakes. I definitely recommend cutting the recipe in half if you aren't feeding a lot of people.

    My last tip is that using the bacon grease to pan fry them is a MUST! It added the perfect smoky, bacony flavor that is needed. These are definitely not an everyday thing, even though with 12 servings they are less than 200 calories per serving.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 26, 2012

    Flag

    one word"yummy"

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 15, 2012

    Flag

    It was good. My husband liked it. I did, however, have to use additional panko to bind the cake together. Used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to even out the potato cake portions.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 14, 2012

    Flag

    Thought it was great AFTER I changed 2 ingredients. Changed the bacon to turkey bacon, patted very well, if you have to have it go turkey. Also, changed the cheese to a low fat cheese. Just a thought

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 11, 2012

    Flag

    Less calories and fat than her original food does not make a healthy version. Cheddar cheese and bacon is not diabetic food. I did find the nutritional information. The fat percentage is 27% -- 30% is the FDA guideline. I'm not impressed.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.