Unfried Chicken

Recipe courtesy Bobby Deen
Show: Not My Mama's Meals Episode: Restaurant Reunion

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 38

Showing 1-10 of 38

Sort by:

Newest
  • on August 19, 2014

    Flag

    This recipe is so easy and delicious. I did not fry it first just put it in the oven because I was short on time. Will definitely make this again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 01, 2014

    Flag

    This is the best chicken I have had hands down. My picky children love it and it is very easy to make. It does brown better in an iron skillet, but it also works on a baking pan. I am disappointed that there is no nutritional information on this recipe however.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 20, 2014

    Flag

    Very tasty. I don't have an iron skillet so I baked in a metal baking pan. It came out crispy but as I read in other reviews I should have flipped it so both sides would be crispy. I used panko instead of cornflakes and it's not easy to stick but I pressed it in and it was fine. Next time I will make my own buttermilk so I don't have to buy a quart, it seems really easy to make.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 09, 2014

    Flag

    We LOVED this recipe! I will probably never fry chicken again.I can't wait until summer so we can try the green tomatoes and zucchini.I never thought eating healthier could taste so good!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 07, 2014

    Flag

    FANTASTIC!
    I am a 40 yr old mom of 3 girls and I just recently indulged in a fried chicken recipe for the first time ever. Guilt city! My healthy lifestyle stays clear of greasy food and that is why I LOVE this recipe of baked, unfried chic. I used boneless breasts and flipped the breasts halfway through cooking to ensure a crispy, brown crust. Cornflakes are genius in this dish and leftovers were awesome.
    Thanks! Yum

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 20, 2013

    Flag

    I like the brown caramelization on both sides of my chicken so I turn the chicken at the halfway point during the baking process.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 28, 2013

    Flag

    I think this a great recipe and is a great swap for fried chicken. The chicken was very moist and the cornflakes crisped up nicely and felt like you were eating chicken skin.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 06, 2013

    Flag

    Awesome! One of our favorite dishes. Never had a problem getting the corn flakes to stick to the chicken. We use a little less lemon zest. Personal preference.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 28, 2013

    Flag

    Excellent and so much better for our diets. I marinated the chicken overnight in buttermilk and hot sauce so the drench just consisted of egg and regular milk. Wonderful recipe and so easy - we'll have it again soon.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 25, 2013

    Flag

    The first time I over cooked it waiting for the crust to brown up. Tasty, but dry as chalk. I looked at the recipe in the book and this one and took a little of both. I mixed bread crumbs (I make these with day old baguette bread, toasted and pulsed in a food processor and corn flakes, but made sure I really crushed the corn flakes and sprayed the thighs with some olive oil and baked.

    Came out perfect and tasty. Not quite fried chicken, but close enough to lose the fat. I also season with their house seasoning in the buttermilk, crumbs and a final little sprinkle.

    Keep the great recipes coming!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 4 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.