Unfried Chicken

Recipe courtesy Bobby Deen
Show: Not My Mama's Meals Episode: Restaurant Reunion

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 38

Showing 11-20 of 38

Sort by:

Newest
  • on March 24, 2013

    Flag

    tasty but very -pleasing to the eye. Cornflakes would not stick to chicken. I followed recipe to the T but could not get crust to stay on chicken. I noticed a lot of people marinated the chicken overnight or at least a few hours before rolling in cornflakes. Maybe I will try doing that, but Bobby did not say to do that on his show.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 15, 2013

    Flag

    So easy and so crunchy. I used boneless & skinless chicken breast and soaked them in the buttermilk & seasonings for serveral hours before dipping them in the egg wash then into the corn flakes before baking. I also turned them 1/2 way through the baking time to make sure they were crunchy on both sides. It worked great!! Another great idea is to use a wired rack on a cookie sheet to bake chicken like this on when you want it crunchy. My husband really loved this new recipe for our Valentines dinner. Thanks Bobby Deen!! <3

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 23, 2013

    Flag

    This recipe was awesome! My husband loves fried chicken and this recipe delivered! I did change some things, I used 1 tsp of hot sauce, and the chicken was boneless and skinless, but it turned out delicious and crispy. I will make this recipe again and again. Thank you, Bobby Dean.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 22, 2013

    Flag

    Thank you, Bobby Dean. Been a long time since we had fried chicken. We live in Texas, but try to eat healthy. i made this when my son had the flu. Perked him right up. Was a little salty. Will dial that down next time, but the family really enjoyed the crunch. Served with mashed potatoes and some veggies. Good eats. Will make again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 21, 2013

    Flag

    This was amazing but the bottom wasn't as crispy as I was hoping for.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 21, 2013

    Flag

    I am a weight watcher and had a whole chicken cut it up skinned it I forgot to add the egg white but it was delish~ will def make again~ came out perfect~

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 11, 2013

    Flag

    This was GREAT! Bobby Deen is fantastic but I did modify this recipe a bit and I think I did it a bit healthier! I used 1 lb. of thinly sliced chicken breast and marinated it in nonfat milk, (ONLY because I opened my brand new low fat buttermilk and it was SOUR and I was too lazy to head back to the store one tablespoon Smart Balance, lemon zest, juice of 1 lemon, and hot sauce. I let it sit for one hour. Then I removed it and added the egg whites. After that I removed one piece at a time from the marinade, and sprinkled paprika, salt and garlic powder on it. Then dipped it in the smashed cornflakes and placed it on a cooking GRATE with a cookie sheet underneath. I cooked at 375 for 25 minutes (because the chicken breasts were not regular ones they were thinly sliced and it turned out AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! The lemon was a delicious aftertaste and the crispiness of the corn flakes was divine.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 05, 2013

    Flag

    Loved it and since I have an egg white allergy I changed it a little bit (also have Celiac's but for once this is a great recipe that does not all for wheat flour. It was fantastic and even great left over. Instead of the cornflakes (did not have any at the house I used quinoa flakes mixed with cornmeal. Instead of egg white I used egg substitute the first time. But it was better using ground flax seed in warm water as an egg white substitute because it is gooier and held the yummy crunchy stuff on better. This is going to become a household staple around here. Thank you!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 17, 2012

    Flag

    My whole family LOVES chicken so I was quite anxious to try the recipe. I was very, very disappointed. The chicken was moist but the flavor was very bland. I would not make it again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 10, 2012

    Flag

    My wife and I cooked this chicken a few times and love it, but I accidentally picked up the frosted flakes instead of the regular ones and it actually came out really good, a little sweeter but very tasty.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.