Unfried Chicken

Recipe courtesy Bobby Deen
Show: Not My Mama's Meals Episode: Restaurant Reunion

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 38

Showing 31-38 of 38

Sort by:

Newest
  • on April 23, 2012

    Flag

    I am a die hard southern girl that for years now has not been able to stomach good old southern fried chicken. The grease was just too heavy and would leave me feeling sick. THANK YOU so much Bobby, for providing this recipe. The chicken was spectacular. In between the great crunch of the crust and the lemon, my husband and I both screamed "this is a keeper...lol.". We have decided the next step with the same method will be chicken fried steak. Please keep the great recipes coming.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 15, 2012

    Flag

    Bobby, we made this tonight and it was the best
    chicken I have ever had. (Sorry Memaw
    My husband and I both loved it, and we will be making it again. It was easy to make, and not a lot of prep time or ingrediants. It was hard to believe it was a low fat recipe, I felt a little naughty. We are long time fans of Paula and love that you are giving us some healthy ways to cook our southern favorites without having to sacrifice the taste.
    Keep up the great work.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 15, 2012

    Flag

    Bobby, I am so glad to know I am not the only guy who "oven Fries" things.. I have done my chicken, pork chops, ocra and yellow squash, that way for years..It isn't for less fat or calories, I simply cnnot fry food well, so I do is all in the oven..Like you I brown it in a pan then finish in oven...Thanks for your show, I am so looking foward to more awsome recipes.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 15, 2012

    Flag

    i am going to try this one... but I was wondering if anyone has used crushed pork skins or soy flour? and what about the fat count for any of this

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 04, 2012

    Flag

    This was the best receipe for baking chicken when you're looking for something crispy. It really tasted very close to fried chicken which I love. I'm making it again tonight and will have it at least twice a week.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 29, 2012

    Flag

    This was very good. I did add my own seasonings to the cornflake crumbs, as just plain cornflakes seemed like it would be too bland. It had a great crunch and was delicious.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 27, 2012

    Flag

    Wonderful crunchy coating, but a bit bland. I used drumsticks and bone=in thighs. I substituted kefir instead of buttermilk, and marinated the chicken for a couple of hours in the mixture before coating and baking. I would marinate the chicken overnight next time. The cornflake coating is delightfully crunchy, but needs seasoning. I would spice it up with some paprika, salt and pepper, and maybe a touch of garlic powder next time. This recipe definitely cuts calories but not overall flavor potential. Needs a tweak but worthwhile, and very simple to prepare.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 15, 2012

    Flag

    I liked this recipe. Being Italian I added Parm to breading. Glad to see Bobby doing this as I have to watch my fat intake. Good Job...

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 4 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.