Buttermilk Biscuits with Eggs and Sausage Gravy

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 23

Showing 1-10 of 23

Sort by:

Newest
  • on November 09, 2014

    Flag

    Wow! This was even better than I thought! I've never made biscuits before, but I did today and these were the best biscuits I've ever had. I halved the recipe and it gave me 6 biscuits. I also purchased sausage instead of making the ones here but everything else I did the same. Every recipe I've ever made of Bobby's has been excellent. I can see why he's an iron chef! Thanks!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 31, 2014

    Flag

    Biscuits and cream gravy are excellent! In reference to "yogi1815" below, I have the episode taped and he does use butter but no Crisco. Also he does state to cook at 450 degrees for 12 minutes. Perhaps there is another episode that you are confusing with this one(Stephanie's Favorites).

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 25, 2014

    Flag

    Okay! Bobby, you are the best; however, not ALL folks in the South make a "cream" gravy without browning the roux to their preference. Some do not use a milk product for it either but use hot water for the gravy. As odd as that may sound a Florida born and raised friend of mine made hers that way and it was stunning! My family (Texas), always made it with milk products. I do both, brown the roux (butter, drippings and flour with salt and pepper...then add the cooked sausage bits to the gravy (ergo - sausage gravy). I do believe your biscuits are really outstanding but I do use heavy cream rather than buttermilk at times without the pepper for those who do not like spicy anything as I do. Thanks for sharing your talent with your fans.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 22, 2014

    Flag

    I watched this episode on television where he used half butter and half Crisco. Also he baked at 400 degree for about 20 min. vs. 450 degrees for 12 min.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 15, 2013

    Flag

    I have been baking these Buttermilk Biscuits for 3 years and I love love love these biscuits. I don't eat it with the sausage gravy just strawberry jam or maple syrup and my BIG SPOON! LOVE YOU BOBBY

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 02, 2013

    Flag

    I've been making this recipe for years and it is excellent. I add large chunks of pepper, oregano and parsley as well. The butter is important. I mix by hand and cut the butter in with a pastry knife.

    Damn Good, Bobby

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 20, 2013

    Flag

    really good, but I don't understand the pepper on the biscuits. I always had gravy made with bacon grease instead of butter or gravy made with the sausage in the gravy, no butter. The gravy is a good option for vegetarians.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 05, 2013

    Flag

    This has always been my all time favorite breakfast. On Sunday mornings, my mother made home made gravy, sausage patties, and fresh orange juice. It was the best breakfast we ate all week, which usually consisted of cereal. I can't wait to try to cook this for my mom, dad, and the rest of our family when we leave on vacation next week!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 27, 2013

    Flag

    I had never made biscuits before but I found this recipe very easy to follow. I used a tumbler/glass to cut the biscuits as I don't have a biscuit cutter. The result was soft but flaky biscuits, tasty & delicious! I haven't made the sausage as there are several mixed reviews & I'd rather buy me some Jimmy Dean ; I think even a novice baker will have great success with this biscuit recipe!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 06, 2013

    Flag

    Thank you Bobby!!! Had this for dinner tonite. Omg...it was amazing!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.