Peanut Butter French Toast "Waffles" with Mixed Berry Sauce

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 8

Showing 1-8 of 8

Sort by:

Newest
  • on August 04, 2014

    Flag

    Awesome! My kids loved it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 07, 2013

    Flag

    I made this for my daughter who is 15 months. I omitted the PB and kept the berries whole on the side. She LOVED it!! I usually make from-scratch waffles but they take so much longer. This is definitely my new quick-go-to breakfast!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 04, 2013

    Flag

    Really very simple, easy and delicious. We did not use the peanut butter, and changed the berry mix to blueberries and bread to multigrain. Cleanup was a breeze.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 07, 2013

    Flag

    This review is about the 'waffles'. Add whatever toppings you want....mine was peaches. I use a Cuisinart waffle maker, Belgian, I think. It is the only one I've had success with. I use a setting of 3 and cook for 3 1/2 to 4 minutes. I don't go by the light like when cooking waffles.
    I didn't cut the crusts off the bread, never, never... worked just fine. The trick is to find the right size slice to fit comfortably in the waffle compartment. I also used a nice soft bread and only soaked as much egg mixture as would absorb in the time it took to put four slices in, turn them over, and put them in the waffle maker.
    After all that, the bottom line is they are pretty easy and a nice change from traditional waffles or French toast. I didn't want to call them a novelty food, but that is exactly what they are. A surprise for breakfast or brunch......get creative with the toppings. Peanut butter, bacon, and maple syrup will get you high ratings too.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 05, 2013

    Flag

    Meh... the berry sauce was good, however my "waffles" came out pretty dry; even after soaking the bread for five minutes on each side as the recipe directed. The idea of french toast "waffles" is unique but unfortunately I was pretty disappointed with this recipe.



    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 31, 2012

    Flag

    This is so fun and very tasty! I made small loaves of challah and trimmed them as directed. Instead of his fruit sauce, I made my own own homemade syrup. It was a huge hit. I doubled the recipe in order to have plenty for freezing, and then to pop in the toaster (works well with these!. I probably won't do a double batch again, though, since the buildup on the waffle iron took quite a bit of time to clean up. It is just enough more bits of bread/egg and mixed with the sugar, it really was cooked on- I miss the old days with the removable metal parts that can be immersed in hot water. Next time I'll do just a single batch. It is worth doing often and cooks through much better than regular French toast.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 21, 2011

    Flag

    Everyone loved this - from toddlers to grandparents! I think the star of this dish is the berry sauce. We even used the left over sauce on top of our sundaes that we made. Delicious! And so easy!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 23, 2011

    Flag

    Tastes wonderful! Made our weekend breakfast extra special. It took 2 to 3 times longer for the "waffles" to cook than normal ones, but were worth the wait.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.