Poached Eggs on Toasted Baguette with Goat Cheese, and Black Pepper Vinaigrette

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 13

Showing 1-10 of 13

Sort by:

Newest
  • on September 21, 2014

    Flag

    O.M.G! I saw this recipe this morning on the cooking channel as a quick dish thing. I looked it up online and went and bought a few things I didn't have laying around at home to make this. Then I got home, looked it up again and read the reviews and I'm so glad I did before making it. I made it per the video, except I made homemade crusty bread and grilled it and didn't have the same greens, but it turned out FABULOUS!!!! I will make this again and will make it for company as well! I highly recommend this! Thanks Bobby!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 27, 2014

    Flag

    The printed recipe is way off from the one on the show. The step mentioned in the printed version that tells you to put the bread under the broiler and toast the cheese spread may not be a bad idea, but it was not something that Bobby did. No vinaigrette is drizzled on top of the open faced sandwich later either. Bobby explains at the beginning of the video that even though he's calling it a vinaigrette, he's really just referring to the goat cheese spread. Also, the amount of goat cheese he uses is 8 oz., not the 3 oz. listed in the recipe here. You can watch the video on youtube.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 07, 2013

    Flag

    This was insanely delicious!! So glad I made it. Love Bobby Flay! I make eggs benedict all of the time and love poached eggs...not to mention all of the other ingredients this recipe calls for. This was a nice change and not too heavy. I omitted the tarragon and white vinegar. I would suggest eyeballing the measurements for the vinaigrette as they look a little heavy on the recipe. It was easy and simple yet an elegant meal to serve to guests or on a Sunday morning...or even dinner. I paired it with an arugula salad and an aperol spritz :

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 30, 2013

    Flag

    This is awesome! I've wanted to attempt Eggs Benedict, but poaching the eggs and making a hollandaise sauce have been overwhelming, especially in the morning. This recipe has similar flavors, but vinaigrette can be made in advance of making & assembling the dish. This recipe has all my favorite ingredients -- love it! (If you think it needs more flavor, then add more tarragon.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 14, 2013

    Flag

    I have been wanting to make this for a long time. Was not disappointed. Made with brie and La Brea 7 grain bread. Would be better with ingredients called for . Will definately make it again and add crumbled bacon.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 23, 2012

    Flag

    Loved this recipe! Will make it again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 15, 2012

    Flag

    A really nice, easy and elegant breakfast entree. At the very end, I added a few crispy, bacon lardons on top for pop appeal. The bacon really set off the tomato, eggs and cheese.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 31, 2012

    Flag

    Recipe as written is good, but needs 'something' to elevate it to greatness. Hollandaise sauce comes to mind (but I do love butter. Really enjoyed the baguette, goat cheese and tomato combination - I'll do that part again and add basil for a light summer meal. My egg yolks came out slightly overdone(my fault, so not part of the rating.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 28, 2011

    Flag

    Agree with everything below. This is a regular at my house. Complex in flavor yet easy (if you have the proper materials to poach an egg easily to make. I recommend a sprinkle of pecorino cheese over the top.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 29, 2011

    Flag

    Watch the video 3 times and follow THOSE directions! Buy everything that is listed, forget the written instructions. Use the video.

    I cooked this for my mother in law's 84th birthday party brunch. The only change I made was to go to a cooking store for a egg poaching pan that let me cook 4 eggs (times 2 pans) for a total of 8 eggs at once. I did so, because my other trial poached eggs came out like egg drop soup. Everyone raved about the food. No one ate the side dishes, they all just loved this recipe. My mom in law has traveled the world and loved this meal. Enjoy!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Simply Laura

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.