Braised Chicken Thighs with 40 Cloves of Garlic

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 9

Showing 1-9 of 9

Sort by:

Newest
  • on August 20, 2013

    Flag

    Great! Easy and tasty. I served without the greens....instead made mashed potatoes. It was YUM-O!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 02, 2013

    Flag

    Made this last night & it was delicious. My husband said it was a homerun! Can't wait to make this again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 23, 2012

    Flag

    I have made this dish on several occasions. (including tonight. It is awesome. I didn't use 40 cloves each time, but still just as good. Good with spinach or kale. This has been my go to chicken dish. I will try boneless skinless chicken thighs next. Thanks Rach!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 20, 2012

    Flag

    This dish is super yummy! It has become my go-to for company and everyone has absolutely loved it. I don't like thyme so I leave it out and usually serve this with garlic mashed potatoes. I've got nothing but rave reviews from everyone I've made it for.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 02, 2012

    Flag

    Terrific! Cut the fat by using boneless/skinless thighs and just 1 T olive oil, no butter. Added a pound of frozen pearl onions and maybe half the garlic because that's all I had on hand. Really delicious over brown rice.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 31, 2011

    Flag

    It was so good my husband had seconds & was stuffed. Can't wait to make this again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 15, 2011

    Flag

    This was such a good recipe. My family doesn't like dark meat, so I used chicken breasts. I put it in the oven for 20 minutes instead of 45, and it worked perfectly. I will defintely make this again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 12, 2011

    Flag

    Made this on Sunday and it was really delicious. Only change I made in the recipe was to substitute cooking sherry for the wine - as a nondrinker I wasn't going to buy a whole bottle of wine for one recipe. I don't think it changed the integrity of the recipe at all - it was scrumptious. Next time I will add more greens and cut back on the fats, just for personal preference. My family rated it a 10!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 06, 2011

    Flag

    Just made this tonight and it was absolutely fantastic. I've seen many different recipes for "chicken with forty cloves of garlic" but I've never seen one where you boil the garlic for so long. I really think this mellowed the flavor perfectly to be palatable to even those who claim to not be huge garlic fans. I did exactly as Rachael said and made sure my crispy chicken skin wasn't covered in the broth so it remained crispy. And I used the kale which made the dish so nutritious. The recipe is perfect...wouldn't change a thing. Thanks, Rachael, for a new staple!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.