COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 10

Showing 1-10 of 10

Sort by:

Newest
  • on May 03, 2013

    Flag

    Great recipe, it's a take-off on an old Mexico City style recipe made with chicken called Tinga.

    Great Great eating...I add mexican chorizo to mine....my kids LOVE it.

    Help a local restaurant add it to their menu and they sell out when featured.

    Good Stuff, Miss Rachel. :

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 25, 2012

    Flag

    Bought a beautiful tied, $45, 6.5# roast at Whole Foods -- expensive but humanely raised & "humanely" slaughtered -- and should've cut off some of the fat, as there was a LOT when shredding the meat. I followed the recipe, ingredients-wise, but cooked the pork in my crock pot -- high for 1 hr, low for 7. Because the crock pot promotes so much liquid I used the full 12 oz of beer but only 1/2 C. of orange juice and 1 cup stock; I still had a TON of liquid to reduce. Next time I'll be MUCH more liberal with the kosher salt before browning the roast and will cut off some of the fat. My family really enjoyed it and we've got PLENTY of leftovers, even after setting some aside for the Pork Ragu recipe. The pickled onions are SO easy and really cut the richness/fattiness of the pork nicely.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 10, 2011

    Flag

    My husband & I LOVE this recipe. He likes to mix it with rice. I can't stand beer so I use Asti Spumante instead.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 12, 2011

    Flag

    Another hit from Rachel Ray. The recipe produced a lot of liquid which I strained from the pork for the tacos, but reduced a bit in case we wanted to add some for flavor. The taste of the pork was remarkable and really made the taco different from any shredded pork we have tasted.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 28, 2011

    Flag

    DELICIOUS! This pork was very tender and juicy. My family loved it. We added white rice and pinto beans to our tortillas and we had plenty for the next day.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 01, 2011

    Flag

    Great recipe. Easy to complete even for a novice. It takes a little longer to get cooking liquid to cook out I would give yourself an extra 10 to 15 mins. Fabulous tasting. I made this dish before I went in hospital for c section so I would have a great meal waiting on me when I got out! Great make ahead meal! Good the next day or 3 days later! Good job Rach!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 04, 2011

    Flag

    This was enough to feed an army (my husband was tired of braised pork after day #5 :-)) but was a good method. The final braising liquid was still very watery after cooking for the length of time and it would have taken a very long time to really thicken it and concentrate the flavors a bit more -- if I make this again, I would definitely cut the braising liquid down.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 21, 2011

    Flag

    Very tasty and spicy, we love this recipe. I skipped the cabbage, used fresh jalapenos and orange juice from a bottle.
    Substituted chops for the shoulder.
    Whichever cut of pork you use, the key is patting the meat dry and browning properly.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 09, 2011

    Flag

    These were so amazingingly delicious! And so easy!!! We had plenty of leftovers to enjoy them again. I can't wait to make more.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 04, 2011

    Flag

    This recipe was both relatively easy and delicious! The end result was not as spicy as I was hoping for so the next time I make it, I'll add in some of the seeds/ribs from the chili peppers. The pickled onions made it and the cabbage had the perfect crunch. We are making it again tomorrow for Cinco De Mayo!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.