Cast-Iron Ground Beef Pie

Recipe courtesy Michael Symon, 2012
Show: Symon's Suppers Episode: Cast Iron

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 11

Showing 1-10 of 11

Sort by:

Newest
  • on July 19, 2014

    Flag

    The first night it was disappointing but the cauliflower and russets were good, will make that part again. I reheated it a couple night later and it was soooooooo good. The 1st night the orange and cinnamon were overpowering. Sometimes the leftovers are way better than the original meal. Will make again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 04, 2014

    Flag

    I loved it. And so did my picky kids.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 26, 2014

    Flag

    I fixed this dish tonight and my husband and I ate half of the pie. It was simply delicious and the cinnamon was a must. Thanks Symon

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 18, 2013

    Flag

    great show looking for cast iron redoing the pan thank you

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 13, 2013

    Flag

    I made this wonderful dish the other night. I did omit the cauliflower and added more butter and heavy cream. I just can't stand the taste of Cauliflower. The cast iron pan I have is more than 30 years old and it works great on these type of dishes. Make it you see what we are saying.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 21, 2012

    Flag

    The 1 thing Michael talked about was how to clean a slightly rusted cast-Iron Skillet. This is fine when you know where your skillet came from. I purchased a $3-12" Heavy Duty Skillet that looked like no one had ever learned to clean it properly. I decided to try a new method with my new range. It has a 3' or 5' Self-Clean Mode. I placed my 1/2" thick oil incrusted skillet in the oven. I set the oven for its 1st 3’ Self-Cleaning. Yes, my oven did need cleaning after the Holidays. The skillet came out beautiful. After seasoning my 'brand-new skillet', it’s now my favorite 1. Now I have a 6", 9" & 12" Cast-Iron Skillets. Yes, I have regular skillets but I'd rather use a cast-iron any day. I just wanted to give you another option when we are rather cautious to purchase something at a 2nd Hand-Store with so much built-up on it. If someone had cleaned the skillet before it went on display, its price probably would have been closer to $20.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 11, 2012

    Flag

    so good.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 03, 2012

    Flag

    I made it according to the recipe and it was delicious! Very easy to make and very filling! A definite do-again!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 30, 2012

    Flag

    I really enjoyed this dish. I normally do not eat Cauliflower but it added great depth to the dish, the flavors are very good. I had a hard time keeping the kids out of the dish which is a good thing. I loved the hint of orange zest and hint of cinnamon. I cut down on the amount of onions, used about a 1 1/2 cup, and added a veggie medley instead of just the celery. I would like a little more seasoning in the meat so I will modify this the next time. I also had to cook for about 25 mins to get a golden brown crust but no big deal. I followed @UltraSajid and used the cookie sheet to keep it from dripping. All in all it was a great dish!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 28, 2012

    Flag

    I substituted in ground turkey, used 2 tbsp butter and oil instead of 3, and only a quarter of the cheese (2 oz, which I put on top as a crust instead of in the mash. I also added a few handfuls of fresh spinach in with the onions and celery, and I topped the mash and cheese with black pepper and a little bit more cinnamon. Turkey doesn't release as much fat as the beef, so I had to use some cooking spray for the vegetables. Also, I'd suggest putting a cookie sheet on the rack under the cast-iron pan in the oven in case your seal busts like mine did. I had to bake it for about 25 minutes instead of 15 to get the golden brown color, but I have a crappy oven.

    All that said, it turned out really, really good. The celery and cinnamon made a huge. Make sure you season all the veggies when you start cooking them.

    I calculated the nutritional value, and an eighth of the pan was about 266 calories, 14g fat, 18g carbs, and 19g protein.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.