Cheese and Potato Nests

Recipe courtesy Rachel Khoo
Show: Little Paris Kitchen: Cooking with Rachel Khoo Episode: Mousse Au Chocolate

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 10

Showing 1-10 of 10

Sort by:

Newest
  • on February 12, 2014

    Flag

    Great for breakfast or a light meal any time of the day. Enjoy the show - cooking at its best.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 10, 2013

    Flag

    I had problems getting Reblochon since it's made from unpasteurized milk and cannot be imported into the US... Nobody in the general area is making a "domestic" version, nor can I find Delice du Jura. I opted for a Bavarian Cheese called Rougette... But I think it would also be delicious with Taleggio. It was still delicious with the Rougette though.

    @tbell023 - Venissimo Cheese is the one things I miss most since leaving San Diego.... I LUVD that place. So many cheeses, so little time!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 10, 2013

    Flag

    Rachel Khoo is the best chef I've witnessed on tv. I have recorded everyone of her episodes, shared them with friends and family and have enjoyed every minute over and over again. Not only is she charming, engaging, and instructional, she is a true breath of fresh air.Watching this gem make delicious food with the most humble of kitchens, the simplest of tools, truly brings home why I love food and the art of cooking. I can't help smiling watching her use her chipped bowl, her 2 burner stove, and toaster oven which reminds me that food is an art, and the utenils pale in comparison to one's passion to make something truly wonderful. I'd do anything to go to Paris and learn and share every second with Rachel! Btw, these potato nests will change your life, if not make any brunch you partake in pale in comparison without them.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 19, 2013

    Flag

    These are my new favorite guilty pleasure snack! I went to a local cheese shop (Venissimo, for anyone in San Diego and asked them for a soft stinky cheese. The fancy french cheese I picked went beautifully. A stinky cheese really works well here. Next time I'm going to crisp the bacon first, remove it from the pan then cook the onions, then return the bacon to the onion mixture. Adding the bacon to the onions before it was cooked left me with fatty pieces where the fat didn't render and crisp up. These would be a nice treat for a holiday morning breakfast. One word, Mmmmm!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 03, 2013

    Flag

    delicious! just made a dozen nests with brie for a birthday lunch. disappeared quickly. wish I made more. having a mandolin to make thin matchstick potatoes definitely made it easier and faster.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 01, 2013

    Flag

    I made it but I think after frying the onions I think the chips have been cooked a tiny but more with it because after baking the chips wasn't cooked well.i baked it a bit more around 5 mins more, some chips was cooked and some not. I used Brie because reblchon cheese is so hard to find. It was nice though

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 18, 2013

    Flag

    great!! everyone loved them.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 09, 2013

    Flag

    This is really tasty, you will be coming back to pick at the letovers in the pans before they get cold, I know I did.

    I did not have any Reblochon cheese so I substituted with a good Camembert and added little extra salt, my oven also took twice as long to cook these to my preference, i just had to cover the tops w/ aluminum foil. Other than that it was incredibly tasty and very rich, the bay leaf and wine add an extra dimension to the potato making it less starchy and heavy somehow even though they were smothered with cheese and bacon. A total winner, simple to make and so worth it, can't wait to make this again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 27, 2012

    Flag

    Soo tasty, and really easy to make! I had hashbrowns already frozen and just defrosted and used them. You can't beat something that tastes this great and is this simple to make. My husband is super picky and loved this also :-

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.