Cheese, Pistachio and Prune Cake

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 11

Showing 1-10 of 11

Sort by:

Newest
  • on January 16, 2014

    Flag

    I've made this cake a couple of times now. It's a great idea, but the recipe needs work; it's flat. I'm not going to give up on it yet because I think it has real potential, so here are some of the ideas i'm toying with. The bread needs a hint of sweetness. I think honey would be better in this case than sugar (no more than 1/4 cup). It needs an herb or spice; the olive oil isn't a sufficient substitute. I'm thinking of substituting butter for 1/2 of the olive oil and then adding rosemary. The prunes are too one-note (sweet). Soaking the prunes (or dried figs even better) in balsamic and sherry with the rosemary before incorporating them in the cake should work nicely but may require corresponding changes to the leavening (about 1 tsp of baking soda to counteract the effects of the acid on the baking powder).

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 14, 2013

    Flag

    Excellent, easy-to-follow recipe. Perfect. The flavor and texture are so delightful! My family makes this cake often and we have decided it goes well with meals as a side dish or with wine or with milk or with ANYthing. We do add a few minutes to the bake time - it's best if the top blushes a rusty hue.
    Thank you for a real winner Rachel.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 15, 2013

    Flag

    So fun to make and Love it!!!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 12, 2013

    Flag

    Fantastic! I took it to a lakeside potluck and it was devoured very quickly!

    I would never add sugar to this. The prunes add the right amount of sweetness. If your goat cheese is very bland, you could probably add a wee bit more salt and pepper. But I thought it was perfect the way it's written.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 18, 2013

    Flag

    Very delicious. Will do it again and again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 19, 2013

    Flag

    I agree that this is a good basic - the bread is lovely. But it's tasteless the way it's written. Perhaps the reviewer who added the sugar was right. it needs herbs. it needs SOMETHING. I used a tasty tallegio cheese.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 24, 2013

    Flag

    Delicious! I used feta cheese, but would not recommend using feta, it was too salty in this cake even if no salt was added in the batter. I loved the prunes and would recommend more prunes (I boiled raspberry wine til it didn't smell like alcohol anymore and soaked chopped prunes in it for about an hour, also I would add as many pistachios as would fit here, they are delicious, and not enough. I want to try again with goat cheese, it sounds delicious. Also, I did add about 2 tsp of sugar to the batter.... just cause I'm a little naughty.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 02, 2013

    Flag

    This is one of the most versatile recipes ever. I have made it with dried cherries and feta as well as the prune and goat cheese. I have even used the idea off the prunes and cheese in my favorite nut bread recipe with sweet savory results. Great with spinach salad or quiche! I made mini loaves to give away even!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 08, 2013

    Flag

    A wonderful savory cake.. I took her suggestion to exchange the prunes for olives and, for me, that was the right thing to do..

    Have loved each show...Her kitchen is so like mine..lol..

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 16, 2013

    Flag

    Great recipe!!! I invited my cousins and aunts to my house for coffee and tea, and I made this cake. They all loved it!! The prunes, pistachios and goat cheese make the perfect combination! Thanks for the recipe Rachel!! I love your show!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.