COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 11

Showing 1-10 of 11

Sort by:

Newest
  • on August 07, 2013

    Flag

    One of my favorite recipes with out changing anything. Occasionally I will skip the rice or noodles and make a wrap out of it with some fresh cabbage and tortillas and that is great for something different as well.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 05, 2013

    Flag

    I did NOT change anything will preparing this dish. If you're going for "hot and spicy" this dish fits the bill. I appreciated the different textures with the chopped peanuts and noodles. I absolutely would make this again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 24, 2013

    Flag

    Awsome. I added mushroom to the recepie. Will do it again and did steam rice on the side mmmmm delisioso!!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 19, 2013

    Flag

    I replaced the chicken with tofu, and forgot the plain rice vinegar. I subbed apple cider vinegar and some sugar for the forgotten rice vinegar.
    I also picked up seasoned soy bean paste - so this may have added some extra heat, but it turned out well.
    Would have benefitted from some ginger, as recommended by others.
    I also felt like the whole cup of peanuts was a little overkill (I think I only put in 3/4 C and it still seemed a little unbalanced.

    I don't know if it's because of my seasoned soy bean paste - but the "sweet" sauce was more hot than sweet, so I had to add more honey than the recipe calls for.
    Even with these missteps it turned out great! Looking forward to making it again. Very easy, very quick (with tofu, that is - I can see this being a little more involved with chicken, very delicious.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 11, 2013

    Flag

    Tasty? yes! Love this recipe! as it has been said improve is the game,no chiles used red pepper flake,no sriracha sauce used hot sauce,added ginger just cause,no egg noodles used romin noodles.Boom this is awesome!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 12, 2012

    Flag

    Loved it! We do not like catnip so we didn't use & we did not have soy paste so we used Thai curry paste. Turned out very spicy & very tasty!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 09, 2012

    Flag

    Really wanted to love this but it was just OK. It needs some tweaking. Once they are made, I'm sure it will be good. Although less healthy, may try frying the chicken may add flavor and allow the sauce to clung to the meat. Ginger is not listed here but may be needed. Anyway, will re attempt. Love Ching's show and recipes!!! Very refreshing.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 09, 2012

    Flag

    Outstanding! The only change I made, and maybe not really a change, I made a mix of chicken and large shrimp. I stir fried each separately and also added assorted sweet peppers cut into bite size pieces. Didn't have peanuts so I added cashews. The sauce is to "live" for. I had wide rice noodle on hand so I used those. The taste is on target. You must make this dish, especially for an Oriental dinner party. Ching...you rock! I dream of going to San Francisco and getting lost in the Wok Shop.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 21, 2011

    Flag

    Good recipe, many tweaks: 1 add more garlic, and add ginger 2 use peanut oil 3 total cooking time is more like 15-20 minutes 4 add sesame oil to the noodles after draining 5 use Toing Ot-Toi Viet-NAM (Huy Fong Chili Garlic sauce 6 start with the garlic and ginger and peanut oil, with the wok at lower temp so as not to burn the garlic, then increase heat before adding the chicken

    Delicious, highly recommended. Have made this four times now.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 24, 2011

    Flag

    This is the more authentic version of General Tso's Chicken. When I grew up in the UK our favourite Chinese restaurant had this on the menu and we always ordered it and this recipe is exactly how I used to remember, sweet, spicy and delicious. I am not too keen on the deep fried version you can find in the US as it doesn't really add to the dish at all. This was a very simple recipe where you can make the sauce in advance and keep in the fridge to toss up another batch any time you want for a quick fix! please try

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.