COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 9

Showing 1-9 of 9

Sort by:

Newest
  • on February 23, 2014

    Flag

    Best Kung Pao Beef ever! My husband rated it a 9 1/2 out of 10. I followed the recipe exactly except for the Guilin Chili sauce that I did not have so I used Sambal Oelek instead. Spicy, deep in flavor from the black vinegar and the sauce was the perfect thickness. Tender beef with crunchy peanuts all with that slight numbing of the Sichuan peppercorns. Delish!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 25, 2012

    Flag

    I thought this was great! I agree with the other reviewer... the szechwan peppercorn was a bit much and distracted from the rest of the dish. Otherwise I thought the flavors were great and just as the show implies... Easy!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 24, 2012

    Flag

    This tastes JUST like the dish served in a Chinese restaurant. In fact, even better! I leave out the Sichuan peppercorns, because I don't like the flavor, but otherwise, this recipe is a real winner. LOVE!!! BTW: the internet has all the Chinese sauces you need, if you aren't lucky enough to live near a Chinatown. It's worth the effort!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 07, 2012

    Flag

    Couldn't find the ingredients for this dish and it didn't come close to what it should've been. Short of a trip to China Town in NYC or San Francisco, I don't really know how you can find those particular chilies, the Sichuan peppercorns and that Chili sauce. Heinz chili sauce sure didn't work.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 13, 2011

    Flag

    Easy and good. We will make this again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 25, 2011

    Flag

    Amazing! Once cooked I had to run out so I put it away for the next night. Microwaved it and it was amazing. The sauce was a little vinegar tasting at first but when it sat overnight and those flavors married it was fantastic. I only used 3 dry chiles and 1 jalapenio insted of the serrano and it was just the right amount of heat.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 23, 2011

    Flag

    WOW! What a great dish. Spicy but tasty, just the right amount of heat. I like the stickiness of the sauce on the beef. I like my steak on the very pink side so I did not cook it very long. I had leftovers the next day and the microwave made the beef very chewy. Won't be microwaving the next time if we have leftovers. So good! Great recipe

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 17, 2011

    Flag

    This is a delicious recipe and very different from any other stir fry I have made. The sauce is so unique and the flavor of the szechuan peppercorns was so interesting. I would make one change to the recipe. Next time I will cook the steak until it is still quite pink, only stir frying it briefly before adding the sauce. Steak dries out when it is well done and it should be cooked to medium done at most. The dish was delicious but the steak over cooked and lost its lovely texture. It was still delicious, but the steak was not the star it should have been.

    We all loved this and none of us had ever had a Chinese dish like it, or had ever tried szechuan peppercorns. I will make this again and again. This time, my steak will be flash stir fried so it isn't over cooked.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 08, 2011

    Flag

    This recipe is so good. It is by far the most authentic Chinese dish we ever cooked. It serves 4 but my wife and I could not stop eating it. So technically it only serves 2. I also love that you control the level of spicy. We chose 4 red dry Thai chiles and 4 serranos.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Simply Laura

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.