COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 18

Showing 1-10 of 18

Sort by:

Newest
  • on March 21, 2014

    Flag

    Winner! proper Yummy Dish. no need to add cornstarch just add more sugar and allow to cook down abit to make proper sticky deliciousness

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 26, 2014

    Flag

    This looked very easy on the show & ingredients are not hard to find. I really wanted to like this dish.
    I made the recipe exactly as written & on the show. It was rather bland and boring and the sauce never thickened as other reviewers have written. I used toasted sesame oil as I always have it in my cabinet. In my opinion this recipe is lack-luster and the end result is like a washed down American version of a Chinese chicken dish. It left me wanting more flavor.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 06, 2013

    Flag

    Very, very good! I removed the chicken from the sauce after about 20 min and that allowed me to cook it down and thicken it without having to add cornstarch. I made it three times for three different groups of people... everybody loves it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 15, 2013

    Flag

    Delicious. I used toasted sesame oil, but still had to add more brown sugar and cornstarch to get it to thicken.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 27, 2012

    Flag

    This dish was delicous. We used regular sesame oil rather than toasted. I think that may make a difference on the thickness of the sauce. Very good otherwise.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 11, 2012

    Flag

    Easy and quick to make. My fiance normally does the wok cooking, so I was a bit nervous to try the dish. It turned out beautifully! The only disappointment was that there weren't more leftovers for lunch the next day.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 15, 2012

    Flag

    I've been to 3 Chinese markets in my city and none of them carry toasted sesame oil. They do have something called black sesame oil-is that the same thing? My sauce is not thickening and I think it's the oil. I really want to try this recipe with the real thing.
    UPDATE: Thanks to the moderators on clearing up my sesame oil question. I made this again with the suggested oil (I think I've even seen Ching using it on the show but the sauce took 10 minutes or more to reduce and never really got thick or sticky. I followed advice others have left and used cornstarch and we enjoyed it,

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 07, 2012

    Flag

    I just finished making and eating this recipe. It was so easy and tasted great. I added bean sprouts, yum!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 30, 2012

    Flag

    The best authentic chicken i could ever expect in my own kitchen. It is important that if you want it to look exactly like hers, that you need to find the toasted sesame oil (that stops cooking because i went to my regular grocers in the area and could only find the pure sesame oil. I cook on a larger scale because i have a large family so i used 6 pounds of boneless thighs, so after putting a 1/2 cup of sesame oil to my 6 pounds of chicken, it was quite enough considering she put 1/4 per pounds, i used a bit more brown sugar and thickened the souce with a bit of cornstarch and medium brown sherry found in the section with the wine(s. so although there was some tweeking, it was amazing! Thank you Ching-He Huang. I love your recipes

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 05, 2012

    Flag

    Delicious! Very easy and tasty. I used the toasted sesame oil but it did not thicken so I used about 1 tablespoon cornstarch to thicken. Used leftovers next day in lettuce wraps-yummy. Have not used Fresno chilies before, but they are my new favorite chili pepper! Will be making this on a regular basis.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.