COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 20

Showing 1-10 of 20

Sort by:

Newest
  • on October 13, 2014

    Flag

    This dish was good, but definitely needs some adjustments. My chicken was dry, so next time I may try brining the chicken in baking soda and H2O, and then coat it in cornstarch. I would also decrease the time to cook the chicken. The end result tasted fine, but just seemed to lack the heartiness of other stir fries. Adding some veggies to the fry, and omitting the spinach on the side might give it that boost. I will use the sauce for other dishes, but I only used about 1Tbs. of the oil based on other reviewer's. It's quick and easy for a weeknight meal, so if you make this, just tweak according to your instincts, and it is pretty tasty.


    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 27, 2014

    Flag

    My sauce did not thicken. It was just oil. I used toasted sesame oil like she said, but evidently it didn't reduce like she said it would. I got it at Trader Joes, so maybe it wasn't really toasted? I couldn't thicken with cornstarch, because it was just all oil.(I measured the oil and it was 1/4 C so it never reduced. The chicken was delicious, but I missed the sticky sauce!!��. Will try again with some toasted oil from an Asian store.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 21, 2014

    Flag

    Winner! proper Yummy Dish. no need to add cornstarch just add more sugar and allow to cook down abit to make proper sticky deliciousness

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 26, 2014

    Flag

    This looked very easy on the show & ingredients are not hard to find. I really wanted to like this dish.
    I made the recipe exactly as written & on the show. It was rather bland and boring and the sauce never thickened as other reviewers have written. I used toasted sesame oil as I always have it in my cabinet. In my opinion this recipe is lack-luster and the end result is like a washed down American version of a Chinese chicken dish. It left me wanting more flavor.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 06, 2013

    Flag

    Very, very good! I removed the chicken from the sauce after about 20 min and that allowed me to cook it down and thicken it without having to add cornstarch. I made it three times for three different groups of people... everybody loves it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 15, 2013

    Flag

    Delicious. I used toasted sesame oil, but still had to add more brown sugar and cornstarch to get it to thicken.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 27, 2012

    Flag

    This dish was delicous. We used regular sesame oil rather than toasted. I think that may make a difference on the thickness of the sauce. Very good otherwise.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 11, 2012

    Flag

    Easy and quick to make. My fiance normally does the wok cooking, so I was a bit nervous to try the dish. It turned out beautifully! The only disappointment was that there weren't more leftovers for lunch the next day.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 15, 2012

    Flag

    I've been to 3 Chinese markets in my city and none of them carry toasted sesame oil. They do have something called black sesame oil-is that the same thing? My sauce is not thickening and I think it's the oil. I really want to try this recipe with the real thing.
    UPDATE: Thanks to the moderators on clearing up my sesame oil question. I made this again with the suggested oil (I think I've even seen Ching using it on the show but the sauce took 10 minutes or more to reduce and never really got thick or sticky. I followed advice others have left and used cornstarch and we enjoyed it,

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 07, 2012

    Flag

    I just finished making and eating this recipe. It was so easy and tasted great. I added bean sprouts, yum!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.