Braised Short Ribs on Garlic Mashed Potatoes with Green Beans and Poached Tomatoes

Chuck Hughes
Recipe courtesy Chuck Hughes
Show: Chuck's Day Off Episode: The Boys Across the Road

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 15

Showing 1-10 of 15

Sort by:

Newest
  • on June 21, 2014

    Flag

    I made this for dinner and it was absolutely amazing. The short ribs were so tender they just fell apart and melted in my mouth. This recipe has such depth of flavor and from the Ribs to the sides. This recipe has now been added to my rotation and I will continue to make this for years to come. DEEELICIOUS!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 17, 2013

    Flag

    Ok, Lets be real. Everybody who raved about this recipe they were right. This is the Bomb! I followed it to the T and OMG it was delicious. All of my friends that came to the dinner party were talking and saying if you can cook like this why do you ever go out to eat. I Strongly recommend this whole recipe to all. Oh yeah this is the my first time ever making and eating Poached Tomatoes the taste that was brought out of them was wow just explosively delicious. Chuck you are the man!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 14, 2013

    Flag

    i've made these 3 times now...just to die for!!! love the mashed potatoes with the garlic...LOVE Chuck's show!!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 19, 2013

    Flag


    They are so unbelievably tender and tasty. You can make the shanks the day before and they are just as good if not better! So easy to make and guests think you are a whiz in the kitchen.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 25, 2012

    Flag

    I've made these 5 times now and wouldn't think of wasting a beef rib on any other recipe. Love Chuck's show also! As everyone has mentioned, the wine/gravy is incredible and now I always make garlic mashed potatoes which the leftovers also make excellent potato patties/pancakes! Chuck and Alton!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 24, 2012

    Flag

    This was awesome! Wine reduction instead of gravy is so silky & flavorful! Loved it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 28, 2011

    Flag

    made these last night. seriously tender, delicious and mouth watering! I only had one bottle of wine, so used a can of condensed beef consome and water. also didn't have beets. the hint of herbs, cinnamon, cocoa and anise enhanced the flavor immensely. I used a bit of potato startch to thicken the sauce at the end. one guest thought the sause was too sweet, with the addition of a cup of brown sugar, but I love it- couldn't get enough! next time I'll follow the recipe exactly, but with less brown sugar. can always add more as the sauce is reducing, if needed.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 27, 2011

    Flag

    Takes a little time and patience but well worth it. Tons of flavor that will make you flip when you first taste the reduction sauce. Chuck thanks for sharing this recipe and making it look easy enough to inspire one to try it to see thats its well worth it all, Awesome !!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 14, 2011

    Flag

    A-mazzzzzzzingggggggg. I'm famous because of Chuck now!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 14, 2011

    Flag

    Amazing dish! Awsome! I will make this again and again and again. You da man Chuck.
    Great taste, Everyone loved it. Thanks

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.