Chocolate Stout Cakes

Chuck Hughes
Recipe courtesy Chuck Hughes
Show: Chuck's Day Off Episode: The Beer Show

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 8

Showing 1-8 of 8

Sort by:

Newest
  • on January 24, 2014

    Flag

    This recipe is one of the best I've gotten on this or any other site for that matter. I made it for my mom about a year ago and I could tell that she was very skeptical because it contained beer. I have to admit, so was I, but I was pleasantly surprised about how delicious and so very easy to make it was! I love chocolate and it was very chocolatey, but without the sickly sweet taste I often find most desserts to have. The beer also adds this other mild dimension of flavor that is really nice. And you can't eat the pudding without the whipped cream :D

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 14, 2013

    Flag

    This is super tasty. I'm not a chocolate fan and this recipe really gets the chocolate flavor without excessive sweetness, it is really good and very easy to make.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 19, 2013

    Flag

    I make this and had great results. Made it again and added one touch , made a chocolate ganache and coated individual pieces.Next time I might add some Irish cream when making the ganache,although that might put it over the top.
    I find many of Chuch Hughes recipes easy to make and oh so tasty .

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 15, 2012

    Flag

    LOVE this recipe!! I'm doing a cooking class tonight at a local cheese/wine store, and I'm making this for our dessert! I love sharing Chuck's recipes with everyone! Winner on this one Chuck!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 26, 2012

    Flag

    First made this and wife said yummmm, made it again and the neighbors said yummyyyyyyyy. My wife can't get enough of this and the neighbors want the recipe to make for church functions. Great recipe although I did add a couple handfuls of walnuts, even better.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 02, 2011

    Flag

    This bread pudding was incredibly easy to make and super delicious. I used a fresh loaf of French bread too and the texture was perfect. The crusts give it a little bite and crispness, good contrast to the gooey center.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 05, 2011

    Flag

    Wow! I had my doubts, but was set to see it through. I made this recipe exactly as stated, and it is simply fantastic. Just enough chocolate, the stout really has a nice, mild flavor, and the consistency of the "cake" is just what I wanted: bread pudding! The best part about it, other than it tastes (and presents fantastic, it was extremely easy. Give it a try!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 27, 2011

    Flag

    This recipe was outstanding! Easy to make and delicious! I used regular whipping cream (35%?) and Hawaiian rolls instead of the french bread. Came out with a wonderful texture. It was a little gooey and not dried out like some bread pudding can be. The flavor of the stout beer (I used Guinness) complimented the chocolate, and the finished product did not have a beer flavor. Give it a try, you'll love it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.