Portuguese Chicken with Chorizo and Clams

Chuck Hughes
Recipe courtesy Chuck Hughes
Show: Chuck's Day Off Episode: The Cops

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 9

Showing 1-9 of 9

Sort by:

Newest
  • on August 12, 2013

    Flag

    Oh My Goodness! I love Chucks dishes already so I'm used to being blowed away but this one knocked me on my butt! If you like bland food this is not your dish. Amazing mix of flavors I made it with twice baked potatoes and grill asparagus. Crazy Good!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 11, 2012

    Flag

    Absolutely amazing! This is a rustic restaurant style quality meal that's not too complicated to prepare. Everything goes very well together, I wouldn't change anything as some have suggested. I find that the red peppers and the chorizo just complement each other so well.

    One thing to note though is that once you put the kale and the clams in, cover the pan and place it on the stove. I made the mistake of putting the thing back in the oven and I couldn't get enough heat to open the clams. 8 mins on medium high on the stove and voilà, nature's little thermometers popped open.

    Incredible dish and will be making this one often. Thanks Chuck!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 07, 2011

    Flag

    Awesome dish! Love the show and your recipes, Chuck!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 19, 2011

    Flag

    Terrific recipe. Peppers skippable. I covered the pan throughout, if memory serves, which may explain why my clams opened and potatoes cooked while the other reviewers didn't.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 09, 2011

    Flag

    love this recipe! Even better the next day with nice crispy bread!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 03, 2011

    Flag

    I haven't tried this but it looks Awesome and so does the Chef, someone I could marry!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 27, 2011

    Flag

    First off let me say this is the ONLY show I record to watch. I make this dish at least once every 3 weeks. I do make a little change. I don't put the clams in and instead of Chorizo I use Italian sausage.
    Also, if I don't get out to purchase Kale I use leaf spinach. Such an impressive meal. Guests LOVE it! Make sure you get that chicken brown and crispy before putting it in the oven, it justs adds that extra texture. THANK YOU!!!!!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 17, 2011

    Flag

    Very simple and very good recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 04, 2011

    Flag

    This recipe is awful! I followed the recipe exactly, yet the clams didn't cook in ten mins (but the kale certainly burned) and the potatoes were rock hard. There might be a good dish here, but not if you follow his directions.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.