COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 23

Showing 1-10 of 23

Sort by:

Newest
  • on March 18, 2014

    Flag

    I tried the recipe and it was smoother than your normal batter. I swapped canola oil for rapeseed oil (because I had some at home). It came out well however, I will swap canola oil for butter next time; I can taste the rapeseed oil in the cupcakes though not bad however, I prefer the taste of butter.

    Thank you for sharing your recipe, I had fun doing this.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 06, 2014

    Flag

    insanely good

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 27, 2013

    Flag

    Wow! It tastes great!!!
    But I did reduce sugar amount to 1 cup, oil to 1 cup and no red coloring. I also added 1 tsp of instant coffe and used dark cocoa powder.
    I baked for 20 min and it was too long. The top part is pretty hard. 18 min was perfect.
    I baked in ice cream cones.
    The topping is good, but feel like it is missing something. Maybe vanilla extract? With my modification, this is a keeper. The last recipe I tried was not good at all, so I am glad I found this recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 22, 2013

    Flag

    We have used Chef Hughes recipe for Red Velvet Cake on multiple occassions and each time it has delivered moist, flavorful cakes.

    The recipe works equally well whether the cake batter is poured into muffin tins [for cupcakes], ramekins [for personal-sized cakes], or 9-inch cake pans [for larger, stacked cakes].

    The attached recipe for mascarpone icing added a subtly sweet and citrus flavor to each red velvet cake that we made.

    All of our guests have enjoyed these Red Velvet Cakes so much that we have made this our go-to recipe for Red Velvet Cake.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 29, 2013

    Flag

    I really like this recipe, very easy and if you cut the recipe in half you can make 1 dozen cupcakes or a 1 layer 9" cake. Just made simple buttercream frosting (butter, powdered sugar, a little milk and vanilla. Everyone has liked this when I served it, which is often!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 16, 2013

    Flag

    I really enjoyed the texture of these the best. I had Greek yogurt on hand instead of reg. Fantastic texture, might add either instant coffee or espresso and maybe a little more cocoa, but I'm also good with these as written. Yum!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 06, 2012

    Flag

    I made this recipe twice. The first time I followed directions to the "T". They came out aweful! The amount of oil was too much, and they tasted like "oil". My next batch I reduced the oil to 3/4 of a cup and these RV cc's were pure heaven. The BEST RV's I have tasted and my co-workers gobbled them up...

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 18, 2012

    Flag

    love it, and so did everyone that tried it.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 14, 2012

    Flag

    I, love it I made it 3 times already. I,m going to make it againg fot my son's grilfriend for her birthday, I fell confedent that she is going to like it.
    In terms of changes to the frosting, I use cream cheese power sugar end vanilla i made, exaclty like for carrot cake.
    Yes | No

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 13, 2012

    Flag

    I've tried a few red velvet cupcakes recipes but have to admit this is the best! Yummy! Thanks Chuck for sharing this recipe...

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Carnival Eats

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.