Tomato Cheese Tart

Chuck Hughes
Recipe courtesy Chuck Hughes
Show: Chuck's Day Off Episode: My Toughest Critics

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 14

Showing 1-10 of 14

Sort by:

Newest
  • on July 05, 2014

    Flag

    Use parm cheese roma tomatoes Italian spice between the layers for a best tasting treat.
    I re move seeds from sliced tomatoes so it does not get soggy .
    Much better than this !!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 04, 2013

    Flag

    Very tasty. I didn't have Filo so used sheets of puff pastry which came up to make a crust nicely around the edges. Didn't have swiss cheese so used tasty and used basil and parsley instead of thyme as my husband is not a thyme fan. I served it as an accompaniment to potato and onion soup. Delicious! Even my hard to inspire adult son liked it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 05, 2013

    Flag

    Very nice. I used chees slices instead of grating it because I was in a hurry. It turned out great!. Nice vegetarian option at the barbecue.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 08, 2013

    Flag

    This was delicious! I used roma tomatoes and sliced them, drizzled with olive oil, salt and pepper and roasted them in a slow oven for about an hour and a half. I find that roasting the tomatoes prior brings out the intensity of their flavour. I preferred more Gruyere to Emmenthal but used both, just more of the first. Once I assembled the tart I placed the roasted tomatoes on top and baked in the oven. By roasting the tomatoes some of the moisture is drawn out and keeps the phyllo from being soggy. This one's a keeper

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 31, 2013

    Flag

    This is wonderful and easy! Don't use regular swiss. Use the Emmenthal or Gruyere. I placed the sliced tomatoes on paper towels and let them sit for about 30 min to draw out the water so it wouldn't be soggy. This also seemed to make the tomatoes a little more flavorful when baked. I added a little fresh oregano from my garden and sprinkled some fresh romano cheese on top. Lastly, one time when I didn't have phyllo dough on hand I made a pie crust and put it in a tart pan.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 16, 2012

    Flag

    This was delicious. I used Jersey tomatoes, the best!!!I sprinkled a tiny bit of aged balsalmic vinegar on top. Delish....

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 15, 2012

    Flag

    This dish is very tasty but I think the best thing about it is how light it is. It leaves you full but not feeling full - just satisfied. Very nice.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 08, 2012

    Flag

    Quick, easy, and savory this one was. You can use any kind of tomato. A great snack or hor dourve. Go easy on the salt!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 07, 2012

    Flag

    Easy and delicious!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 29, 2012

    Flag

    I roasted my tomatoes first for about 20 min. at 325. sprinkled with a little balsamic vinegar and parm. cheese then put them on the phylo. No soggy phylo!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.