Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 8

Showing 1-8 of 8

Sort by:

Newest
  • on May 02, 2014

    Flag

    This was great! Better than I expected - I had been afraid it would be a bit bland but it was lovely, nice combo of flavours - no one flavour stood out but all blended together nicely. I think it is as good as a meat-based shepherd's pie. Yes it was time consuming, but it made enough for 8 (which is 4 dinners for the two of us)(made 2 casserole dishes, and froze one). I will definitely make this again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 13, 2013

    Flag

    I can't say enough about this recipe. It is by far the most delicious tasting vegetarian dish I have ever prepared. My hat is off to Chef Chuck Hughes! Remarkable flavors and ingredients make this an incredible dish that could be made to replace any dinner for Thanksgiving, Christimas, etc. I make it even when there is no special occasion!!! Everytime I make this dish everyone wants the recipe and the whole dinner discussion is about the wonderful casserole. Again, remarkable....make it, it will become one of your favorites. Also, print out many copies of the recipe because everyone who eats this dish will want it!! Enjoy!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 17, 2012

    Flag

    I am not a vegetarian (and also don't like mushrooms, but I am trying!, but I love vegetarian dishes. This was EXCELLENT, but be prepared for A LOT of food! I HALVED the recipe, and still had a full 13"x9" pan full of this, which yielded 6 servings! I used 1 lb. of baby portobellos for the 'shrooms, and chopped macadamia nuts vs. the pine nuts. For roasting the garlic, I always slice the very top of the bulb, just to show the cloves, then season as in the recipe, and completely wrap in foil. It also will take 45 mins to get fully tender. All in all, DELICIOUS! Thanks Chuck!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 27, 2012

    Flag

    Sooooo good!!! The mushrooms really add a "meaty" texture to the dish, and the fried shallots are a must, they really send it over the top. The mashed potato recipe would be great on it's own as well. We did end up cutting the recipe in half, which filled an 8x8 dish and was plenty for two people.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 19, 2011

    Flag

    The first time I made this, I was stunned at how much food this recipe made. We ended up eating it for days! But, it was tasty and filling, so when I was invited to a vegetarian potluck supper last week, I made it with a few riffs of my own. It was a solid hit, with many asking me to send them the recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 26, 2011

    Flag

    This was sooo good! Each and every flavor coming through. Especially loved the goat cheese in the mashed potatoes, yum! Time consuming to make but so worth it! Huge pie, just 2 of us, so, cut it up into portions and put in freezer to enjoy another day : Definitely a favorite!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 05, 2011

    Flag

    Wasn't so crazy about this one. To me it was bland. If you do make this recipe be prepared, the finished product is huge, enough to fill two casserole!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 23, 2011

    Flag

    Wow! I recently watched Chuck make this and was intrigued to try one of his recipes. I gave myself a lot of time, turned up the music and prepped and cooked. I followed the recipe as directed with one exception: it's past squash season so I substituted steamed parsnip strips for the spaghetti squash. As written this recipe makes a lot of food, so next time I will half it as it's just me and my wife eating. The flavors were tremendous, yeah it's a bit of work but worth it. The mashed potatoes were soooooo creamy. We have leftovers for lunch and some for laters. My wife's immediate comment was: "This is a do-again." Since we do a lot of cooking and like real variety that's a high compliment in our home. Thanks Chuck.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.