Curried Meatballs

Recipe Courtesy Bal Arneson
Show: Spice Goddess Episode: Indian Main Dishes

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 12

Showing 1-10 of 12

Sort by:

Newest
  • on August 28, 2013

    Flag

    You have to like her cooking... may be a bit harder but these are awesome although a bit more complicated... but that is what i was looking for

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 08, 2013

    Flag

    I give it the three stars for the terrific meatballs, which are great by themselves. But the sauce flavor was muddled by too many spices plus wine--no one flavor was defined and the overall effect was quite bitter. Garam masala plus other spices plus wine = overkill. I am usually great with sauces and had to discard this one--but the meatballs are a keeper!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 15, 2012

    Flag

    The meatballs are tasty by themselves without the sauce!!!!! I used ground turkey, and the suggested spices; fantastic!! This recipe would make great burgers, kabobs, or with spagetti (and meatballs too!! The tamarind is a bit messy and time consuming to deal with, but adds another layer of flavor. The sauce was tasty. I added a little brown sugar to jazz it up a bit. Yummy meatballs!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 08, 2012

    Flag

    The recipe was great! My son-in-law does not care for Indian food but he was delighted with this recipe. I bought the prepared tamarind sauce and it worked wonderfully.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 08, 2012

    Flag

    I'm not sure why other people had trouble with bitterness and sourness. We made this according to the directions (although there is a typo in the recipe because it mentions tamarind going in the sauce and the meatballs. It actually only goes in the meatballs. Tomato paste (which is listed as an ingredient, but not in the directions goes in the sauce instead. We served this over shirataki noodles (tofu noodles -- don't knock them until you try them because they are an amazing low carb, low cal substitute for pasta and ate it like it was a masala spaghetti and meatballs. Absolutely delicious.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 26, 2012

    Flag

    We really enjoyed this recipe. The only problem I had was with the sauce. The ingredient list for the sauce did not list tamurind pulp yet the directions clearly called for adding the ramurind pulp, I winged with about 1 tablespoon of the pulp however someone should be proof reading the recipes to catch errors such as missing ingredient amounts. We will be making this dish again as we loved it. We didn't do rice however we warmed up nam bread it was the perfect accomplement.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 19, 2012

    Flag

    The sauce was bitter! I ended up pouring the whole thing down the drain. I ended up serving the meatballs by themselves. I tried to fix the sauce using some tips I found, but it made it taste worse. The meatballs were good by themselves. I think the cause of bitterness was from over cooking the spice which makes it turn bitter. I know it was my mistake, but I doubt I will make it again and I love indian food!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 25, 2011

    Flag

    The best meatballs I've ever had in my life!! My husband agreed! They would go great without the sauce even as part of meatballs and spaghetti. I did as recommended on the prior review and used tomato paste instead of tamarind pulp and they were perfect. We had the meatballs and sauce over basmati rice. One thing to remember for next time is I will be doubling the sauce. It was soooo good and we wished we had more for the rice! We will be having this dish once a month at least. Next week I'm making these meatballs for my spaghetti! DELICIOUS RECIPE!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 22, 2011

    Flag

    I have not made this recipe but noticed a slight mistake in the sauce. In the show, Ms. Anderson added 2 Tbsp of Tomato Paste, *NOT* Tamarind Pulp. The doubling of the pulp could very possibly the source of the sourness noted by other reviewers. I do plan on making this dish and will revise my comment then.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 14, 2011

    Flag

    I too, found the sauce sour and a bit bitter. My friend and I agreed that it was tasty but barely resembled and Indian dish. The wine didn't go with the rest of the flavors and I only had Tamarind concentrate not pulp. I googled subsitutes and it said to use 1/2 the amount of concentrate as you would pulp which I did but still, too sour. I added honey and tomato paste. Overall, an interesting dish but doubt I'll make it again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.