COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 23

Showing 11-20 of 23

Sort by:

Newest
  • on June 30, 2012

    Flag

    Loved it just like being in Florence at my favorite restaurant. Osteria Baroncelli

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 26, 2012

    Flag

    Fantastic!! The only meat sauce I will make. I have served this on two special occasions and it was a huge hit. My father-in-law finished his plate and asked if I knew how to make it again! Thanks Debi and Gabriele, keep on cooking for us.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 14, 2012

    Flag

    Exactly what I was wanting and expecting. Big bold flavors, so yummy it just warms your heart. I have made a lot of sauces trying to get this flavor. I never go out for Bolognese now because this recipe is better than anything I have ever had out; I make this recipe all the time.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 12, 2012

    Flag

    Absolutely fabulous! Made this for my family and served it over pappardella. The only change I made was to add 4 cloves of garlic minced and extra crushed red peppers. They could not stop eating it. It was a good thing I put half of the bolognese into freezer containers before I served it. If my family had gotten hold of those containers they would have eaten them also. This recipe really makes a lot of sauce. It is definitely a keeper and the next time I have a large dinner party, I will be serving it.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 18, 2012

    Flag

    This recipe is great and easy. I've made a few changes over time. First, I brown the pancetta in the olive oil before adding the onions, celery and carrots. This brings out the full flavor of the pancetta and makes it crispy which makes a nice surprise in the mouth when eating the finished dish whether is lasagna or gnocci or pasta bolognese.

    I've also added more celery and carrots to the recipe, and 1 full Tablespoon of red pepper flakes for a little more bite.

    I can take or leave the milk. I usually do use it as I think it gives the sauce a little more creaminess but I only add it at the very last minute and I don't add it if I'm going to be freezing some for use later -- you can take half out of the pot for freezing and then had half the milk.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 11, 2012

    Flag

    I've made this recipe at least a dozen times now. It's fantastic. Many times I haven't had every single ingredient so I've had to tweak things a little. For anyone else trying the recipe I can't stress enough that the pancetta is well worth the hassle to find. You may have to locate a specialty italian deli or grocer to find it... but it's really worth the trip. If you don't have veal, you can always just go a bit heavier on the ground beef... you won't miss it. Personally, the milk doesn't do anything for me either so I occasionally skip it. I usually double up the vegetables, too. This recipe makes a very hearty, tremendously flavorful bolognese that's probably the best I've ever tasted. Even if you make it completely as-written, you won't be disappointed. I've used this sauce as the basis for lasagna and a host of other pastas. I have to guard the pot or my wife and kids will sneak into the kitchen and take a bowl to eat. Yes... a bowl of sauce. It's that good.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 26, 2012

    Flag

    I cooked this recipe for my husband's birthday. Everyone loved it! One of the best yet:

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 14, 2012

    Flag

    This sauce was absolutely delicious!! I served it on tagliatelle pasta, and the whole family loved it. It is easy to make and although time consuming, definitely worth the time investment needed to make it. I would highly recommend it!! The recipe makes a lot, so there was plenty for tonight and enough to freeze for another time.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 13, 2011

    Flag

    The best Bolognese I have ever had. I went on to make the lasagna using this sauce. Amazing. I did the recipe just as is and it was fabulous. Is it a bit of work?? Yes but so worth it! Enough sauce left over for a night of spaghetti bolognese which was awesome as well. I am even going to make the sauce for Christmas presents to give in gift baskets. I know everybody will love it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 29, 2011

    Flag

    Uh, it's totally awesome. Really good. I did the recipe up to the meat browning and then I put the meat/soffritto mixture along with the pureéd tomatoes and wine in the slow cooker. I added a bit of raw sugar (about 1 tablespoon to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. I also added about the same amount of fresh oregano from the garden. It's been on low for about 12 hours now and it is amazing. Texturally awesome also. Looking forward to drenching my fresh arugula and sun dried tomato ravioli with it tomorrow. Try it; a bit of work, but well worth the time. Enjoy.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.