COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 25

Showing 1-10 of 25

Sort by:

Newest
  • on March 23, 2014

    Flag

    Awesome recipe! It does take time, however well worth the effort. Great show.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 24, 2013

    Flag

    Awesome recipe! Do agree that it takes some time to prepare so get your work done a day ahead of schedule. Tasty and elegant dish to serve any time during the year. As a matter of fact, getting it ready now for Christmas dinner. Great show.......nice to see a regular couple that enjoy each other, their family, friends and of course cooking!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 10, 2013

    Flag

    I prepped this recipe yesterday and it definitely takes some time. Planning to make it for my son's girlfriend's family next week so tested it. Baked it tonight and after an hour at 350 degrees it still wasn't warm in the center. Noticed the review indicating the video shows 375 which I'll try next time and plan for a longer time. Glad I tested it in advance. I used Italian sausage which gave a bit more flavor. Was worried it wouldn't feed 10 people but didn't need to be. Portion sizes were large. I used an electric knife to cut it but mine didn't stand up as well as on the video. I'm really wondering if they used "fresh" mozzarella or not. Fresh has a high water content and I don't think as much flavor which might be why mine was a little loose. It is also next to impossible to grate or shred it so that made me more skeptical. Wish I could watch it again to see for sure. All in taste and presentation was awesome. Did everyone else use fresh mozzarella?

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 16, 2013

    Flag

    Love this recipe! I also roasted the eggplant slices which worked out fine. I loved the appearance of the eggplant skin one the slices but they were a little tough to cut through. The flavor of the eggplant combined with the pasta mixture was sublime! Love this show.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 24, 2013

    Flag

    Made it tonight very good everyone loved it. This is a keeper takes some time to make but worth it. LOVE the show.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 22, 2013

    Flag

    Excellent Recipe, Made this tonight & have to say it was DELICIOUS! Looked just like your recipe. The whole family enjoy it . The preparation time did take me much time but WE LOVE IT. I used lean ground beef with pork beef. THANKS AGAIN

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 09, 2013

    Flag

    So, so good! We grilled the eggplant on our outdoor grill until flexible. Used ground beef; didn't have the pork available, but kept everything else the same. The result was SO impressive both visually and the flavors. Everyone at the table took a bite and started smiling. Yes, it takes a lot of prep, cooking and assembly time, but use that to your advantage by assembling the day before, and you've got a perfect meal for a dinner party. We do a progressive dinner over the holidays -- this will definitely be my entree. MAKE THIS!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 16, 2013

    Flag

    This recipe is a fabulous find. Delicious and a gorgeous presentation. My family usually turn their noses up at eggplant, but not anymore!!!! In my excitement to prepare this, the prep time was overlooked. However, the end result was worth it. I needed 3 eggplants instead of 2 and would prepare the eggplant in the oven next time. Also, using veal sounds like a great idea. Thanks for sharing this recipe! I so enjoy you show!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 28, 2013

    Flag

    "Delicious! I made my own recipe of pasta sauce adding black olives, as well as ground pork and ground veal. Used small pasta shells I had in pantry. Dry browned eggplant instead of using olive oil. Only other addition I would do in the future is add a layer of eggplant in the middle of the dish. I don't own a springform pan so I just used a glass pyrex casserole dish.
    I made the sauce and browned the meat the day before so that helped cut down prep time.
    This would make a fantastic dish for company. Very impressive.
    Thanks Deb & Gab! Love your show! "

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 27, 2013

    Flag

    The recipe was great, but I have to say I had to "wing it". I could not remember which show I had seen it on, and after an exhaustive search of the cooking channel and foodnetwork, I gave up and went off memory. Why wouldn't a search of eggplant dishes, find this recipe?
    I used Japanese eggplant from the garden, ground chicken, and par boiled the eggplant rather than frying it. It was absolutely delicious and a big hit with my family.
    I love the show, and Gabriele and Debi make it a "real " experience. Keep up the good work.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.