COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 25

Showing 11-20 of 25

Sort by:

Newest
  • on December 23, 2012

    Flag

    Just like my Nona's!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 19, 2012

    Flag

    Would have been wonderful as-is but I was in the mood for meatballs and sauce. I was out of sweet onions so this was perfect. I changed it by frying the meatballs in the pan first, keeping them in the oven (set to warm and then cooking the onions and garlic in the meatball drippings and a little oil. Once they were browned I added some beef stock to deglaze the pan. I let that cook down and then added the tomatoes. It had a nice beefy flavor but the base sauce really made it! Once the sauce cooked down about halfway, I added the meatballs back in, let it cook about 15 min and viola!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 05, 2012

    Flag

    i was looking for a spaghetti recipe that is simple, and delicious. i wanted to use up my tomatoes, basil and garlic which i know that these are basic ingredients for a spaghetti recipe, i actually know where to look for them. this couple offers simple italian delicious recipes that are just easy to make. thanks you guys.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 07, 2012

    Flag

    This sauce reminds me when I tasted "real Italian" food in Rome. Fresh, tasty, clean... I have made this a million times, and have memorized it. My husband and daughter (14 love it, and we have never bought jarred sauce again. Truly, you won't go back. No preservatives etc.. just good sauce! It's not hearty, it's red sauce, so if you want meat sauce this is not what you want to make. Use good canned tomatoes, it's a difference.

    I make two batches if the husband is in town and not traveling, he likes allot, but one should feed three-four standard portions.

    Basically, I will be making this the rest of my life, and will teach my daughter how to perfect it.,

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 03, 2011

    Flag

    I absolutely loved this recipe! I pureed the onions as I don't like the texture of pieces of onion in my food-normally I pick them out, but I really wanted to enjoy the flavor they would impart on the sauce. I simmered it exactly for 30 minutes and the sauce was super tasty! Next time I will make 2 batches of the sauce as I think 1 pound of spaghetti is too much pasta for the amount of sauce in 1 batch. I don't like drowning my pasta in sauce, but it needed just a touch more. Flavor was out of this world! I made it with a side of olive cheese bread from The Pioneer Woman recipes blog.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 02, 2011

    Flag

    Wonderful for a quick and easy meal. Crusty bread to tag along.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 24, 2011

    Flag

    Very authentic Tuscan ..

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 23, 2011

    Flag

    very good, very fresh and light, i also added a tiny bit of sugar to diminish the acidity, really enjoyed it.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 19, 2011

    Flag

    Maaaan was this good!. I had never made fresh tomatoe sauce before. I had just purchased a brand new food processor and needed something to make with it. I saw this particular episode just a few days earlier and decided - this would be the test. This was awesome. My Hubby and 7 - year old daughter devoured it. I brought home fresh pasta that night and it was delicious. It was so light and had great flavor. Yeah, we think this will be a regular on the weekly menu.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 17, 2011

    Flag

    This sauce is great! It's simple and fresh. I did add about 2 T of agave syrup, too; to take a bit of the sour away.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.