Turkey Meatballs on a Bed of Leeks

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 26

Showing 11-20 of 26

Sort by:

Newest
  • on December 29, 2012

    Flag

    The flavor, and the shock that they're turkey, warrants a five star rating. This was my first time making meatballs from scratch - and they were some work! - but they turned out perfectly tender. Based on other reviews, I removed the leeks while cooking the first side of the meatballs, returning them when I flipped the balls, and used a whole 1c of chicken broth, which gave enough leek gravy to lightly coat the pasta served as a side.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 10, 2012

    Flag

    Yummy recipe!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 14, 2012

    Flag

    I made some little changes, added minced garlic to meatballs, doubled recipe, cooked leeks until well wilted, then revoked from pan, browned meatballs in batches, removed, added 8 oz mushrooms to pan, browned them, added leeks back, added about 1 cup chicken broth, added meatballs back to pan, reduced heat, covered, and cooked until meatballs were firm. Well yummmmmmm. Will definitely be making again, thanks Extra Virgin!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 27, 2012

    Flag

    Best Meatballs ever!! I have to tell that I NEVER liked meatballs until now. Now I cook meatballs every other week. Last time I mix turkey and beef... sooo fantastic! I also added 1 cup of chicken stock and 2 of dry white wine.... yummy! My family and people at the office ask me for more meatballs!! Thanks Debi and Gabriele.. you two are the BEST !!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 24, 2012

    Flag

    These were SO GOOD!! My husband loved them and said they were the best meatballs he's ever had. I cooked them in a cast iron skillet and used chicken stock instead of broth and it turned out great. Reading other reviews...I puled the skillet off the stove early when I was cooking the leeks so they could finish with the meatballs. Some of them did crisp up but we didn't mind that at all. I used almost 4 cups of stock for the gravy and would let it cook down before adding each ladle full to the skillet. The family wants this to be a regular meal in the house and I agree!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 03, 2012

    Flag

    So yummy...Made a good meal. I made them in the morning and let them sit in the fridge until I was ready to cook supper. I also added a little corn starch to the gravy to thicken it. This will be a go to recipe for my family.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 30, 2012

    Flag

    Fantastic!! I will definitely make again. I agree with the comments about the leeks. I will cook them on a lower setting next time. I added a can of white beans for the last 25 min. Worked in great. Thanks for the suggestion of left-overs on pizza with fontina and arugula. I will definitely try.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 30, 2012

    Flag

    Wonderful recipe! I am always nervous with lean ground turkey, but no need to worry with these meatballs! Just be careful with the leeks as mine browned up well before 10 minutes and they will continue to cook while you brown the meatballs, so keep that in mind. The "gravy" was delicious and as another reviewer suggested, I agree with increasing the amount! Thank you for a fantastic recipe -- this will be a regular in our house!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 29, 2012

    Flag

    Surprisingly impressed! We eat a LOT of ground turkey dishes in our household, so I decided to give this a try. But I'll confess, it didn't sound that great. I decided to trust the reviews. The meatballs are full of flavor and the "gravy" is full of flavor. Two tips: (1 Watch the leeks. Mine started to get crispy once I added the meatballs, so I had to scoop them out and add them back in once I added the chicken stock. (2 Consider adding extra chicken stock to get extra gravy. It makes the dish. Gabriele does say you can add more water. I just kept adding stock.

    A keeper.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 04, 2011

    Flag

    Ah did someone say yum? more like YUMMY!!!!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.