COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 25

Showing 1-10 of 25

Sort by:

Newest
  • on April 21, 2014

    Flag

    Thank you Debi. Love this recipe. so simple and delicious!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 27, 2013

    Flag

    This recipe is absolutely gorgeous. So easy to make and really full of flavour.

    I have made it both with and without the red wine and have also used tinned tomatoes and its still yummy. It freezes well too.

    I had not eaten polenta before I made this but it goes really well and was such a surprise how delicious it is - a nice alternative to mashed potato.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 22, 2013

    Flag

    Pretty hard to mess up this recipe. The sole poor review was obviously from someone who did NOT, contrary to their post, follow the recipe. Poorly chose chuck is my guess, but I could be wrong. Anyway, this is a super simple dish to put together and it is absolutely a no fail. I'm not a big polenta fan so I put it over yukon gold potatoes, but it's all good. My take on this is that I add 5 cloves of chopped garlic and 3 sprigs of fresh Italian parseley. I think Gabrielle does this too but keeps it a secret; honestly, a Tuscan recipe without garlic? I think not...anyway, I absolutely love this stew and I adore Debbie and Gabrielle. What a fun couple with awesome recipes!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 22, 2013

    Flag

    This is a very good recipe. Probably one of the best stews. I make little changes for personal preference. I use beef ribs. I think that the bone adds in flavor; besides the thyme, I also add bay leaves, marjoram and garlic. I saute everything in olive oil first to create a flavor base. I saute the meat first, then the vegetables and herbs, then put the meat back in the pot and follow the recipe. Comes out great!
    The polenta I make with 2 parts of milk, one part of water, milk, salt, pepper, lots of butter, some fresh thyme and at the end grated parmesan and pecorino. You can't beat that!!! We even eat it cold as a snack. It is that good... and I've always thought I did not like polenta. Yeah sure. The recipe was not good enough...

    Regards everyone and Happy Cooking!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 08, 2013

    Flag

    This is an excellent stew that I've made a few times and it turned out fantastic each time! The only minor change I made was I added a little more cornmeal to the polenta mixture because I like it a little firmer for this dish. Thank you for sharing you guys! When your cookbook comes out I hope this recipe is in it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 21, 2013

    Flag

    The stew was good and the polenta was a great touch. My Slovak family has had lots of beef stews, but they never tried polenta before. The polenta was a hit with them.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 21, 2013

    Flag

    This has become a family favorite. I made the mistake of tasting the beef after it had been cooking an hour and it tasted AWFUL. I figured "oh well, lets just follow the recipe and see what happens." When the cooking time was complete it was tender, fragrant and a joy to eat. It's the only stew we make in our house now! Tying the herbs into a bundle is such a simple idea and it makes it so easy to fish them out at the end rather than have someone get a tough old stalk. I always keep a 3 lb piece of chuck in the freezer in case I get in the mood. Thanks Debi and Gabrielle--can't wait for the cookbook! Thanks from this Brooklyn boy.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 24, 2013

    Flag

    Love this stew! It's easy and makes the house smell wonderful! Love it with the polenta and green beans! :

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 21, 2012

    Flag

    This is so delicious and easy to make.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 27, 2012

    Flag

    I used this as a guide and added more veggies (parsnips, mushrooms, sweet potatoes. I didn't use fresh tomatoes but canned, crushed tomatoes along with beef broth and the wine. I also added more onions, and I cut them in rings. I put this together in the morning and add things all day long and let it cook and braise and cook and cook. You get the idea. By far the best beef stew on the planet

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 3 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Carnival Eats

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.