Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread with Pecans

2011 Cooking Channel, LLC. All rights reserved.

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 12

Showing 1-10 of 12

Sort by:

Newest
  • on July 18, 2012

    Flag

    Awesome dessert!!! I reduced the amount of vegetable oil to 1/4 cup by making up the difference with 1/4 cup applesauce. For the flour, I combined equal parts all-purpose flour and whole wheat pastry flour. I added 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon and 1/8 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg. For the nuts, I only used a generous 1/2 cup walnuts, toasted and chopped, and that was enough for the whole loaf. I did not set aside any to sprinkle on top. I folded in the whole half cup of nuts. It does not need any more. Also, I made it with 1/3 cup mini chocolate chips. Love this dessert. Thank you.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 19, 2012

    Flag

    I am so recommending this recipe! It tastes super GOOD!!! & sooo easy to make. I made a slight change to mine though. Instead of 1 cup chopped Pecan, I folded into the batter 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats. Everyone in my family truly enjoyed it for breakfast this morning.=D

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 19, 2012

    Flag

    Not impressed. I baked this to bring as a welcome gift to my new neighbors but am afraid they would think I'm probably not a baker. It isn't awful, just so-so. I've had better zucchini bread before and definitely better and moister chocolate bread. I'd say, if you're curious, try it, but if you're baking to impress, try another recipe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 18, 2012

    Flag

    So easy to make and super moist! I made it for father's day and my grandpa ate it right up.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 28, 2011

    Flag

    I had to make this gluten-free, so I used a GF flour blend and added 1 and 1/2 tsp xanthan gum. OMG! This is delicious!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 25, 2011

    Flag

    Made cupcakes. Subbing half of oil for apple sauce works great. Very wet batter took a while to cook through. Cupcake was flattened after cooling. Topped off with one large pecan. Could use some more depth of flavor.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 05, 2011

    Flag

    Made w/slight alterations because ingredients were not on hand.
    Baked in paper lined muffin pans to celebrate a friend's 15 year anniversary - I doubled the recipe (yield: ~42 cupcakes. Didn't have vanilla or pecans/walnuts, so I used 2 teaspoons of creamy peanut butter and added 2 cups of unsalted raw peanuts (skinned and halved. I used dark brown sugar instead of white table sugar. In place of 1 egg I used 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce from a can. Instead of buttermilk, I used sour cream. In place of the chocolate chunks, I used semi-sweet chocolate chips.

    Topped off each cupcake with a blanched & peeled almond instead of icing/frosting (mostly due to time limitations. A healthy alternative to dessert and the cupcake size was the perfect portion.

    Temp: 400 degrees F
    Time: 15-18 min. or until the top springs back when touched.

    Not a crumb left!
    A new favorite Summer- time recipe due to the extra zucchini's growing in the garden.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 04, 2011

    Flag

    This is such an easy bread to make. I didn't have pecans so, I used walnuts. I took this to my son's and four of us ate half of it! It was still slightly warm and very moist. I always wrap my breads in foil before they are completely cool to keep them extra moist. I will def make this again. Great for beginners.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 31, 2011

    Flag

    Love this receipe! I did however want to mention that it didn't need to cook for the full time alloted. Mine took 35-40 min.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 28, 2011

    Flag

    OMG! This is amazing! So moist......and no mixer needed! I don't think I'll have to save it in a conatiner for a week. It will be gone long before that!
    Thanks for this!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.