Egg Curry

Recipe courtesy Bal Arneson
Show: Spice Goddess Episode: Indian Brunch

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 10

Showing 1-10 of 10

Sort by:

Newest
  • on December 09, 2013

    Flag

    My husband & I made this together and changed it a little to our personal preferences. It was great, very satisfying. Instead of garam masala we used a Persian spice blend, advieh. I only had whole fennel seed and ignored the chick pea flour. Also, we started the recipe by sautéing chopped onion with the spices. A very adaptable recipe. Will definitely make again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 04, 2013

    Flag

    I had all of these spices in the house and decided to try my first from scratch curry and it was delicious. I love Bal's show and the easy and friendly way she talks to us; the stories she tells; her enjoyment of the foods. It took me awhile to gather up all of the various spices but I have a bulk spice place in my town and slowly built up my Indian cabinet. The hb eggs were delicious in this and reminded me of the way my dad used to put hb eggs in tomato sauce over pasta. The only tweaking I did was to add 1 TBS of brown sugar to take a teeny bit of the sourness out of it. I did use Greek Yogurt which was in the house, but added a little water to thin it to Bal's consistency in her yogurts. My next attempt is going to be the Fish Cakes and the Indian Pizza. quite a few friends are gluten free people and the use of the chickpea flour is wonderful! Thank you Bal....Oh, and I like sweet or fruit w/ curry but had none, so we had some sweet bread and butter pickles with it :-

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 24, 2012

    Flag

    This is a very easy and tasty curry, especially if you've got a bunch of eggs that you need to use up before they spoil. I altered this recipe a bit since I'm not a huge fan of fennel, so I left it out entirely. I also didn't have any yogurt, so I used coconut milk instead and it came out creamy and delicious. I served it up with some jasmine rice and it was the perfect meal. :

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 19, 2012

    Flag

    My family LOVED this recipe! Even my son, who's normally spice-phobic. The flavor of the sauce and the velvety texture of the eggs make this a go-to dish for Meatless Mondays. We serve it with rice, dal and whatever vegetables look good that day.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 12, 2011

    Flag

    This dish is sooo easy and soooo good, I have used it as written as well as with chicken or vegetables, but it is the best with the eggs. The taste of the yolk of the egg and the sauce is wonderfully rich. This recipe is a good basic curry recipe, I like it with chilies added.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 11, 2011

    Flag

    I love this recipe. Simple but delish! I've made it with eggs, with chicken and with turkey.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 13, 2011

    Flag


    we all enjoyed it, i put some potatoes and peas as well, turn out really nice. Love your receipes. Bal thankyou.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 06, 2011

    Flag

    so delish- one of my favorite recipes! the sauce is amazing with anything.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 21, 2011

    Flag

    This was my first time attempting to cook Indian 'from scratch', rather than a jar. To my surprise, this was a very easy recipe to make, and I have to tell you that it was so good! Super creamy, nice bits of tomato, and the ground fennel seeds really stood out and lifted this dish up. The sauce by itself is a star, and great for dipping Naan bread into. I can't thank you enough for sharing your recipes, but also for the inspiring television show.
    Cheers, Michael

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on June 11, 2011

    Flag

    We love this recipe. I double this recipe so we have leftovers. So good, creamy, flavorful and couldn't be easier. Try it, you won't be sorry. If you don't want eggs, use this as a "gravy" for roasted veggies, cooked chicken, etc.
    I love, love, love the Tandoori Masala! I keep it in a jar and use it on baked chicken, roasted potato and cauliflower, tomato's. You name it I've probably put it on it.
    Bal, thank you so much for sharing your recipes.
    Alison

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.