Flour's Famous Banana Bread

Recipe courtesy Chef Joanne Chang of Flour Bakery in Boston
Show: Giada's Weekend Getaways Episode: Boston

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 8

Showing 1-8 of 8

Sort by:

Newest
  • on September 16, 2014

    Flag

    I've been making banana bread for close to 40 years and have tried an absurd number of recipes. "THE" 5-star banana bread recipe uses a combination of white and brown sugars and a combination of butter and oil. You will never convince me otherwise! I do agree with the reviewers who indicated smaller pans work better. Banana bread has a dense batter, so overcooking the edges is always a concern if you are to bake it thoroughly in the center.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 23, 2014

    Flag

    Delicious. After reading the reviews, I decided to try baking these in my super small loaf pans. This worked wonderfully, but I slightly overcooked the first batch. NOT TO WORRY. I used those loaves in banana bread chocolate pudding, which was amazing. My second batch I began watching at 30 minutes and the result was banana bread perfection. If you have the small loaf pans, you will get an evenly cooked loaf--but begin to watch the bread at about 35 minutes! (Mine made three of the little loaves.)

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 29, 2012

    Flag

    1hr 15min in the oven, and I still ended up with serious wet goop in the middle and overcooked edges. I've never, ever had problems making banana bread or muffins from other recipes. The part that was cooked enough to eat was dry and just not tasty enough. Disappointed.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 07, 2012

    Flag

    Delish!This will no doubt be a staple for this household.My try also took extended bakeing time.Approx,1hour 15 min. in reg. sized bread pan.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 24, 2012

    Flag

    Delicious; will definely make again. I used melted butter instead of oil and substited mascarpone for the sour cream. It took 1 hour to bake.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 05, 2012

    Flag

    this is my favorite banana bread recipe. I didn't change a thing! thnx

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 05, 2012

    Flag

    Mmmm, this banana bread is so tasty. I followed the recipe exactly. However, I had to extend the baking time to almost 70 minutes because it was a bit jiggly at the 45 minute mark. The last 5 minutes I put it on convection and got a wonderful crunchy crust. Toasting the walnuts is a must to get that nutty flavor.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 08, 2011

    Flag

    Very Good. I made three subsitutions: Whole Wheat for All Purpose Flour; 1/3 c. chocolate chips and 1/3 c. walnuts for 2/3 c. walnuts; Splenda Sugar Blend for White Sugar. Didn't know if that would turn our okay. Hubby and I loved them.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.