Four and Twenty Blackbirds Salted Caramel Apple Pie

Recipe courtesy Melissa and Emily Elsen
Show: Unique Eats Episode: Desserts

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 18

Showing 1-10 of 18

Sort by:

Newest
  • on November 22, 2014

    Flag

    yummy, very delicious !!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 18, 2014

    Flag

    FYI this recipe is COMPLETELY different than the one in The Four & Twenty Blackbirds Pie Book. That's probably why you all are having so many problems. The original recipe calls for just TWO lemons and 6-7 apples (2 1/2 lbs, Granny Smith and Golden Delicious). The amount of sea salt is different (should only be 1/4 tsp). The directions are ENTIRELY different. You're not supposed to douse your pie in the extra caramel, you're supposed to use 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup in the filling (more for a sweeter pie) and save the rest in the fridge for ice cream sundaes or something else. And if you're struggling with the caramel, it's probably because the instructions are not nearly elucidated to the same extent as in the book.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 14, 2014

    Flag

    I disagree with every negative review. This was fantastic and has become my go-to apple pie recipe. Since when does apple pie from scratch not take a while anyways. My advice on to those who struggled with the caramel, make sure the cream is hot when you add it, and that butter is room temp. Also resist all urges to stir the caramel until all the sugar is dissolved, otherwise it will get grainy on the sides of the pot.

    I did make a few adjustments, I used a shot of Calvados, not Angostura Bitters. I used gala, honey crisp, and granny smith apples, and only about half of the lemon juice that the recipe called for. I also didn't individually dip the apples, because I am lazy, so I dumped everything in one bowl and let it macerate for a half hr.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 28, 2013

    Flag

    I agree with reviewer Kristi. They should call this one Salty Tears in My Ruined Apple Pie. This took forever to make, only to end up a WATERY MESS. the caramel sauce was so impossible, I actually used another recipe for it (and not because I burned it - I think the ratio of sugar to water to butter was off. The only thing worse than spending an eternity peeling, coring and mandolin-ing apples and making the sauce 3x was having the whole pie come out such a soggy mess that I had to use a turkey baster to try to siphon off the excess liquid - and that still didn't get all of the liquid! Just to note, I thoroughly drained my apple slices after soaking them in the lemon juice, too, so it could not have been that, and the caramel sauce I used was actually a lot thicker than the mess I got with the first two batches. Skip this and make an old fashioned apple pie instead - no amount of salted caramel is worth this level of epic hassle.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 26, 2013

    Flag

    Fantastic recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving. Personally, I didn't find it all that time consuming, although I am a baker and regularly spend hours on cakes, macarons, etc. I think it only took me about an hour from start to oven. I used Pillsbury pie crust (which is just as good as homemade. I was also able to prep and slice the apples while the caramel was cooking. Caramel is very sensitive and can go from perfect to burnt in a second, so low and slow is definitely the best way to do it (it took around 30 mins but I was doing something else the entire time. I did make two adjustments. First, I only used 2 tbsp. lemon juice and left it in with the apples. I put it in a large bowl and added the apples as I sliced them, giving a quick toss after each apple. Second, I used about double the cinnamon, because it just didn't seem like enough. The caramel was so delicious! I cannot wait to eat this!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 03, 2012

    Flag

    I made this for Thanksgiving. Yes, time consuming but well worth it. I used the juice of 1 1/2 lemons and then drained the apples. Texture of pie was excellent. The caramel does take some time but I'm used to that since I enjoy making candy. For my taste, next time I will just put sugar and caramel on the top; no salt. There was enough salt in the pie itself. Overall my family loved it!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 23, 2012

    Flag

    I gave this pie a four only because of the amount of time it took to prepare. Very time consuming. For the people stating too much lemon, I took the directions to believe that you just dredge the apples and put them in another dish, not mix the apples with all the lemon juice. That is what I did, the pie was not too lemony nor was it runny. For my family, I will probably use a little more raw sugar and spices, but the pie has such a clean apple taste. I would probably keep some caramel to drizzle over the top of the pie when serving to get the full affect of the great tasting caramel.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 22, 2012

    Flag

    I wish I'd read some of these reviews before making this pie, about draining the lemon, etc. This was way too much lemon juice and way too much work for non-spectacular results.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 11, 2012

    Flag

    This pie was awesome!!! Just used 1 lemon with zest and it was the best. Would add a thickener on the next one I make in the future. Other than that my 5 star rating stands.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 29, 2012

    Flag

    Very good recipe. I especially love how the apples are cut. One thing that I would have done different (made this last night is to drain the lemon juice before I added the flour/sugar mixture. I used a pie crust recipe that had an egg and vinegar- very good.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.