Four and Twenty Blackbirds Salted Caramel Apple Pie

Recipe courtesy Melissa and Emily Elsen
Show: Unique Eats Episode: Desserts

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 18

Showing 11-18 of 18

Sort by:

Newest
  • on October 14, 2012

    Flag

    The flavor was good, but it was so watery that I will never try making it again. It had time to cool, yet still was soup. It looked nothing like the picture and it was very time consuming. No one has mentioned this problem. Two tablespoons of flour did not sound like enough, but I always follow a recipe the first time. I'm surprised by the rave reviews.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 15, 2012

    Flag

    This is probably the best apple pie I've ever made or tasted. I didn't let the caramel get as dark as I should have, but it was still delicious.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 15, 2011

    Flag

    I made this pie for Thanksgiving and luckily I made a "trial" pie. I had difficulty with the caramel sauce, so I instead used the caramel sauce found in the fruit and vegetable aisle of the grocery store. I loved how thick the sauce was and the second pie turned out soooo gooey and good! I'm going to make it again for Christmas.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 11, 2011

    Flag

    Overall this is a really great recipe. My only issue was I thought the recipe called for too many apples. I had a lot left over after slicing them. Other than that the pie tasted wonderful and everyone in my family really seemed to enjoy it. As a note, watch your caramel, while I did not burn mine it took a lot of patience to stand there and make sure it didn't burn, completely worth it though! It tasted great.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 27, 2011

    Flag

    Scrumptious recipe. My husband asked me to wait awhile before making another one, otherwise he'd have to go up a pant size. Like "alotto", I waited a split second too long to pour in the cream and scorched my first caramel sauce, but timed the second batch perfectly. I plan to make this one again for Christmas.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 23, 2011

    Flag

    My 4 year old daughter and I made this with no trouble so delicious that we had to get more apples and make more caramel to finish the pies!!!!! Really recommend you give this a try.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 30, 2011

    Flag

    LOVE this recipe!!! What a great update.
    Take your time with the caramel & use a heavy stainless pan, so you can see the true color as it browns. Had a little trouble finding the salt (William Sonoma, well worth it though! Crispin & Honey Crisp apples work with the Grannys and are sometimes easier to find. Slicing the apples with a mandolin & layering cooks so much nicer too. Gets rave reviews every time I make it! TRY IT!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 22, 2011

    Flag

    I had a very hard time with this caramel sauce. After 2 failed attempts, I made David Leibovitz's version instead. It worked beautifully and the pie was delicious!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.