COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 9

Showing 1-9 of 9

Sort by:

Newest
  • on December 13, 2013

    Flag

    This is a great vegetarian pasta dish. I like spicy food so next time I think I'll add an additional 1/2 tsp or so of the pepper flakes. It's a keeper.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 09, 2013

    Flag

    A very good vegetarian recipe. I love the pine nuts on the pasta it makes a big difference. I reserved some pasta water, I use and add a little when I reheat the left over. And it works. I garnished the pasta with minced mint. It's lovely.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 03, 2012

    Flag

    I have made this recipe many times now and my wife and I both enjoy it. It is pretty simple and can be a meal by itself or used as a side dish. My wife usually doesn't like eggplant as often as I do, but always enjoys this dish. You can also make extra puree and use as topping for pizza or flatbread instead of your regular pizza sauce.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 27, 2012

    Flag

    I love this easy sauce! I made it exactly as written but I like some of the suggestions also given in the reviews. My family, who refuse to eat eggplant, will eat this sauce. I think you could serve this as a dip or over chicken with melted cheese. Lots of options and flavors make this a wonderful change up from traditional marinara.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 11, 2012

    Flag

    I made sum adjustments and it ended up really inexpensive,lots of food and tasted great! I used half cup of can tomato pree in the blender with the roasted eggplant(a whole one,a roasted carrot,one roasted garlic clove,then pureed all together til smooth,adding a little more tomato puree as needed til smooth. Add a tablespoon of kosher salt and a tablespoon of olive oil to the puree while pureeing.Pour over whole wheat boiled pasta of your choice with a little of the pasta water.It was great tasting just like this but to kick it up I sprignled sum romano cheese on top,put in the oven for 10 mins,then tried it-great! The eggplant puree is very useful ans sweet savory versatile vegetarian friendly sauce.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 21, 2011

    Flag

    So good and easy to make. I'm actually thinking of using that puree as a dip/spread for dinner party. However, I didn't use mint, just not a fan of mint.
    Thank you Giada!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 12, 2011

    Flag

    I've tried this recipe twice and enjoyed it both times. Most recently substituited basil for mint, excellent! Be sure to save the pasta water, needed 1-1.5 cups to create the "sauce".

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 15, 2011

    Flag

    Excellent pasta dish! Only change I made was to use basil leaves in place of the mint- like that better with eggplant. Also threw in some chopped parsley. Will make this again and again.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 09, 2011

    Flag

    The mint was heavy handed and over powered the dish. We enjoyed this, but will only put one maybe two mint leaves in next time if any. I watch the show and grabbed a little less mint then Giada did. I know it was way less then ¼ cup. My advice; drop the mint and you will love this dish. Pare it with the Roasted Cauliflower with Parmesan and Pancetta also from the same show and you will have an excellent dinner.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

MasterChef Canada

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.