Hotdish (Tater Tot Casserole)

Recipe courtesy Santos Loo for Cooking Channel

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 10

Showing 1-10 of 10

Sort by:

Newest
  • on December 12, 2014

    Flag

    just a quick question..Do you think I could sub ground beef for bob evans sausage? DO you think it would taste good?

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 10, 2014

    Flag

    First of all, sorry, but NO ONE says 'hoddish'. It's hot dish.
    Second, the beauty of hot dish is that everyone has their own take on the basic recipe (which is what this is). So, yes, feel free to substitute any kind of 'cream of' soup you like. Switch up leeks for onions, or skip them altogether. Add melted cream cheese if you want. Put the tots inside and top with potato chips or fried onions. Be creative!
    Lovvvveee me some hot dish!!!

    Oh, also, as someone else mentioned, there's no need to add oil... Just brown the ground beef, push it to the side of the pan, and saute your onions in that fat, then drain the excess fat away.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 09, 2014

    Flag

    Can you substitute the cream of mushroom?

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 18, 2014

    Flag

    pretty good!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 12, 2014

    Flag

    I have to say, at first I was a bit miffed. I have been making tator tot casserole for almost 35 years and here it is on the recipe page. Who knew and I got the recipe from my mother-n-law who got it from her mother and so forth. I wonder where it actually did originate from. I just know it was not here. But it is delicious!! enjoy

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 07, 2014

    Flag

    The ultimate comfort food! Also having grown up in MN, our Mom substituted one can cheddar cheese soup for cream of mushroom soup and skipped the onions all together for her picky eaters. Still make it that way to this day. Who says hoddish? That's hilarious!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 06, 2014

    Flag

    I made this for a friend and her family. We all loved it,

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 16, 2014

    Flag

    I've never heard of this before, but it had things my picky eaters eat so I tried it. I thought I'd get two meals out of it. There weren't any leftovers! May change corn and beans to frozen mixed veggies next time. Had a request for cheese on top so I may put some on half of it while I let it sit before serving.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 30, 2014

    Flag

    Ditto to the review by Patti Drew. I'm also from MN and so are all my relatives: it is "hotdish" for sure. With 20% fat in the meat, making it pretty tasty for cooking, throw in the onion with the meat and it cooks perfectly without all the added oil, but drain off first by tilting you pan and letting it sit for a bit.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 28, 2013

    Flag

    Classic Minnesota comfort food! But skip the olive oil--the meat and onions will cook up just fine without the extra grease. Feel free to vary what vegies you use. And, hey, I'm Minnesota-born-and-raised: I can say with authority that it's pronounced "hotdish."

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.